OSA Awards

Recognize Your Colleagues - Submit a Nomination for an OSA Award  
Members are invited to recognize and celebrate the achievements of colleagues with a nomination for an OSA award. OSA awards and medals span all areas of optics and photonics, as well as contributions made to the community, education, and innovation.  

Unless noted below, the deadline for an award nomination is 1 October. Nominations received after the deadline or those that are incomplete will be held for consideration the following year. The next two consecutive award committees automatically consider any nominee not selected for the award. Award recipients are announced in March of the year following the nomination deadline.


Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Prize

- the highest award of the Society, the Ives Medal recognizes overall distinction in optics

Esther Hoffman Beller Medal

- recognizes outstanding contributions to education in optical science and engineering

Max Born Award

- recognizes contributions to physical optics

Stephen D. Fantone Distinguished Service Award

- recognizes service to the optical community (usually presented in even-numbered years only)

Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award

- recognizes individuals for their innovative and influential contributions to the field of biophotonics, regardless of their career stage

Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award

- recognizes team technical achievements in optical engineering. Deadline: July 10

Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize

- recognizes research accomplishments in the field of optical engineering

The Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award

- recognizes authorship of an outstanding book in the field of optics and photonics, published in the last six years, that has contributed significantly to research, teaching, or the optics and photonics industry (co-presented with SPIE and presented in even-numbered years only)

Nick Holonyak Jr. Award

- recognizes contributions to optics based on semiconductor-based devices and optical materials, including basic science and technological applications

Robert E. Hopkins Leadership Award

- recognizes an individual or group who has had a significant impact on the global optics and photonics community or has had a significant impact on society as a whole stemming from non-research oriented activities

Edwin H. Land Medal

- recognizes pioneering work empowered by scientific research to create inventions, technologies, and products (co-presented with the Society for Imaging Science and Technology). Nominations for the 2019 award should be submitted to the Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T) by 1 October.

Sang Soo Lee Award

- recognizes outstanding leadership in founding or growing the optics and photonics community locally (co-presented with the Optical Society of Korea (OSK) in even-numbered years only)

Emmett N. Leith Medal

- recognizes seminal contributions to the field of optical information processing

Ellis R. Lippincott Award

- recognizes contributions to vibrational spectroscopy (co-presented with the Coblentz Society and the Society for Applied Spectroscopy)

Adolph Lomb Medal

- recognizes noteworthy contributions made to optics at an early career stage

C.E.K. Mees Medal

- recognizes an original use of optics across multiple fields.

William F. Meggers Award

- recognizes outstanding work in spectroscopy

David Richardson Medal

- recognizes contributions to optical engineering, primarily in the commercial and industrial sector

Kevin P. Thompson Optical Design Innovator Award

- recognizes contributions to lens design, optical engineering, or metrology at an early career stage.

Edgar D. Tillyer Award

- recognizes distinguished work in the field of vision.

Charles Hard Townes Medal

- recognizes contributions to quantum electronics

OSA Treasurer's Award

- recognizes an OSA employee who contributes significantly to organizational excellence, promotes and enacts innovate solutions or exemplifies inspirational leadership. Deadline: July 10

John Tyndall Award

- recognizes contributions to fiber optic technology (co-presented with the IEEE/Photonics Society). Nominations for the 2020 award should be submitted to IEEE Photonics Society by 18 August.

Herbert Walther Award

- recognizes distinguished contributions in quantum optics and atomic physics as well as leadership in the international scientific community (co-presented with Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG)).  Deadline: 10 August.

R. W. Wood Prize

- recognizes an outstanding discovery, scientific or technological achievement or invention