Michael D. Fayer

Awards & Distinctions

Michael D Fayer earned his BS and Ph.D. from the University of California Berkeley in 1969 and 1974. He was offered a position at Stanford University in 1974, and he has remained there for the whole career. He now serves ad David Mulvane Ehrsam and Edward Curtis Franklin Professor of Chemistry. Throughout his career, he has studied a wide range of topics, and worked creatively to construct his research.

He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has won many awards, including OSA’s Ellis R. Lippincott Award, the Arthur L. Shawlow Prize in Laser Science from the American Physical Society, the E. Bright Wilson Award for Spectroscopy from the American Chemical Society, and the Earl K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy from APS. He is a Fellow of OSA, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Guggenheim Foundation, APS, and many more

Document Created: 1 Apr 2020
Last Updated: 17 Sep 2021