C. Bradley Moore

Awards & Distinctions

C. Bradley Moore was born 7 December 1939. He received his A.B. from Harvard in 1960. From 1960 to 1963, he was a National Science Foundation Fellow. He completed his Ph.D. in chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley in 1963. He remained at UCB, eventually becoming full professor in 1972, until 2000. While at UCB, he held a number of positions, including Vice Chairman of the Department of Chemistry from 1971-1975, Faculty Senior Scientist in the Materials and Chemical Sciences Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory from 1974 to 2000, Chairman of the Department of Chemistry from 1982-1986, Dean of the College of Chemistry from 1988-1994, and Director of the Chemical Sciences Division of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in his final two years at the school.

He then moved to Ohio State University, where he served as Vice President for Research, Professor of Chemistry, and Distinguished Professor of Mathematical and Physical Sciences. In 2003, he moved to Northwestern University, becoming the Vice President for Research and Professor of Chemistry. From 2005-2007, he served on the Board of Governors for the Argonne National Laboratory, and from 2006-2007 on the Board of Directors for the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory.

Moore has been a visiting professor at many institutions, including the Associe des Sciences in Paris, the Institute for Molecular Science in Okazaki, Japan, and the Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics at the University of Colorado. He was editor of Chemical and Biochemical Applications of Laser, Vols. 1-5. He has served on a number of boards and committees, furthering his influence over chemistry and education.

Moore has received the Coblentz Award, California Section Award from ACS, E.O. Lawrence Award, the First Inter-American Photochemical Society Award in Photochemistry, the University of California Berkeley Staff Assembly Excellence in Management Award, the Earle K. Plyler Prize, and the Senior U.S. Scientist Award from the Humboldt Foundation. He was a Sloan Fellow and a Guggenheim Fellow, and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was the 1987 recipient of OSA’s Ellis R. Lippincott Award.

Document Created: 18 Mar 2020
Last Updated: 17 Sep 2021