Metasurface Holograms


Metasurface Holograms

Hosted By: Holography and Diffractive Optics Technical Group

25 January 2018, 19:00 - 20:00

Download Presentation Slides

Metasurfaces are two-dimensional metamaterials composed of subwavelength photonic 'atoms', and they have attracted great interest owing to their numerous functionalities and potential to modify electromagnetic characteristics. Metasurfaces are expected to pave the path for high quality spatial light modulators that can potentially overcome the limitations of conventional optical components for holography.

In this webinar hosted by the OSA Holography and Diffractive Optics Technical Group, Dr. Byoungho Lee of Seoul National University will present general concepts of metasurface and their applications. Then one of the promising applications of metasurfaces, "metaholograms," will be explained with their previous and recent advances. Introductions and motivations for a complex-amplitude modulation, which means both amplitude and phase modulation, will be covered in this webinar by Dr. Lee, and a novel metasurface for complex-amplitude modulations will be demonstrated. Finally, current issues and required improvements for the future of metaholograms will be suggested with conclusions.

What You Will Learn:

  • General concepts of metasurfaces and their applications for holographic devices

Who Should Attend:

  • Holographic researchers who want to know principles and status of metasurface holograms
  • People willing to learn metasurfaces and their applications
  • Researchers on nanophotonics and metamaterials who want to know issues of holographic applications



Dr. Byoungho Lee, Seoul National University​

Byoungho Lee received the Ph.D. degree from the EECS, University of California, Berkeley in 1993. He has been in the faculty of the School of Electrical Engineering, Seoul National University since September 1994. Prof. Lee is a Fellow of OSA, SPIE, IEEE and is a Member of the Korean Academy of Science and Technology. Currently he is on the editorial board of Advances in Optics and Photonics. He served on the Board of Directors of OSA, and is currently serving as the Chair of OSA Technical Division of Fabrication, Design and Instrumentation. He is a vice-president of Optical Society of Korea.