Skip to main content

Career Insights & Advice from OSA Honorary Members Milton Chang and Erich Ippen


Career Insights & Advice from OSA Honorary Members Milton Chang and Erich Ippen

26 March 2021, 12:00 - 13:00 - Eastern Daylight Time (UTC - 04:00)

Don’t miss this opportunity to engage with OSA’s two most recently elected Honorary Members, Milton Chang, Incubic, LLC, USA, and Erich Ippen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA. Listen in as OSA Ambassador Sarah Lukes, Agile Focus Designs, USA, asks these community leaders to share their career insights, advice and career stories and then invites the audience to ask questions.

Milton Chang earned his B.S. engineering degree with highest honors from the University of Illinois and PhD from the California Institute of Technology, and received Distinguished Alumni awards from both universities. He also attended the Harvard Owner/President Management Program (OPM) and was a member of the Young President Organization (YPO). He is a Fellow of OSA, IEEE, and the Laser Institute of America. He is past president of IEEE Photonics Society and the Laser Institute of America, and is a member of the Committee of 100.

Chang is the author of Toward Entrepreneurship and managing director of Incubic Management, USA. He served on the OSA Board of Directors, along with a number of OSA voluntary roles. In addition, Chang has generously funded OSA and its outreach programs, such as the Incubic Milton Chang Travel Grant and the Milton and Rosalind Chang Pivoting Fellowship, which provides an unrestricted fellowship to talented young optical scientists and engineers as they advance science through non-traditional career paths.


2000 OSA President Erich P. Ippen received the SB in electrical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1962, his MS from the University of California, Berkeley in 1965, and PhD in 1968. He was a member of the technical staff at Bell Laboratories from 1968 to 1980 where he was one of the founders of the field of femtosecond optics. He joined the MIT faculty in 1980.

Ippen’s many honors include earning MIT's James R. Killian, Jr. Faculty Achievement Award, membership of both the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering, and is also a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and OSA. He is the recipient of OSA’s R. W. Wood Award, Charles Hard Townes Medal, and OSA's highest honor--Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Prize. Ippen was on OSA's Board from 1996-1997 and served as President in 2000. Through the years, he has been very active with OSA, serving on many awards and planning committees. He continues to serve on the OSA Foundation Board as well as the Presidential Advisory Committee.