Eric Koester facilitating the Innovation School in 2017


  • Donate Today

    Your donation helps support future leaders in optics & photonics

Your 2018 Team of Experts

Eric Koester, Facilitator: The Innovation School will be facilitated by Eric Koester, serial entrepreneur and “entrepreneur-in-residence” at Georgetown University, USA. Eric will lead attendees through a series of lectures focused on the lean canvas business model, key tools for innovation exploration, customer discovery, experimentation with minimum viable products (MVP’s) and prototypes, and applying the methodologies of innovation as an entrepreneur or intrapreneur.

Mentors: Throughout the program, you will have access to mentors serving as guides as you explore an innovation/product, validate the concept with potential customers, develop and refine a pitch and begin thinking about next steps in terms of actual market value/impact.

Dan Christensen, Toptica, USA
Thomas Schoppenhoven, Fraunhofer ILT, Germany
Wei Sun, Thorlabs, USA
Matthew Weed, Technology Strategist, Luminar Technologies, USA
Addtional Mentors to be announced.

 Keynote Presentation and Guest Mentors: Top industry leaders will support the program by offering lectures on their experiences as innovators and entrepreneurs. Additionally, they will be on-hand to help hone concepts, validate assumptions, question conclusions and guide you toward a successful pitch.

Leslie Kimerling, CEO of Double Helix, USA
Claudio Mazzali, Vice President of Technology, Corning Inc., USA
Sujatha Ramanujan, Managing Director, Luminate, USA
Lucian Hand, President, Altos Photonics, USA
Addtional Keynote Presenters to be announced.

Pitch Panel Judges: A panel of industry experts, innovation leaders and investors will evaluate each presentation and determine the best innovation pitch.

To Be Announced