05 November 2018 – 08 November 2018 Resort World Sentosa, Sentosa Island, Singapore

Optics and Photonics for Energy & the Environment (E2)


E2 focuses on monitoring and controlling the generation of energy and its impact on the environment.

The conference will showcase optical techniques and instrumentation used in sensing and transmitting information relating to energy and the environment. It will bring together people from industry, university, and government to address environmental impacts of energy production and policies to guide its management. Special emphasis will be on sensor devices and optical techniques for energy, environment, and air-quality monitoring, energy usage and transmission (including smart grid technology), and energy efficiency in industry.

View the topic categories.

Committee Members

  • Adam Fleisher, National Inst of Standards & Technology, United States , Program Chair
  • Aleksandra Foltynowicz, Umea University, Sweden , Program Chair
  • Wilfred Walsh, National University of Singapore, Singapore , Program Chair
  • Jong Chow, Australian National University, Australia
  • Phil DeCola, Sigma Space, United States
  • Lukas Emmenegger, EMPA, Switzerland
  • Melanie Ghysels-Dubois, Universite de Reims Champagne-Ardenne, France
  • Vanda Grubišić, National Center for Atmospheric Research, United States
  • Iftach Klapp, ARO-Volcani Center, Israel
  • Hong Lin, National Institute of Metrology,China
  • Gregory Rieker, University of Colorado at Boulder, United States
  • Vincenzo Spagnolo, Politecnico di Bari, Italy
  • Jean-Pierre van Helden, Leibniz Institute for Plasma Science & T, Germany
  • Jonas Westberg, Princeton University, United States
  • Azer Yalin, Colorado State University, United States


Adam Fleisher

National Inst of Standards & Technology, UNITED STATES
Program Chair

Aleksandra Foltynowicz

Umea University, SWEDEN
Program Chair

Wilfred Walsh

National University of Singapore, SINGAPORE
Program Chair


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements, global manufacturer of high purity metals, substrates, laser crystals, advanced materials for semiconductors, optoelectronics, & LEDs.


Agilent Technologies