Skip to main content
19 July 2021 – 23 July 2021 OSA Virtual Event - Pacific Daylight/Summer Time (UTC - 07:00)

Propagation Through and Characterization of Atmospheric and Oceanic Phenomena


pcAOP is a forum for the presentation of research in the physics of light propagation, optical remote sensing, and EO/IR effects in either the atmosphere or ocean, to include distributed volume turbulence, gravity waves, vortex shedding, stably stratified turbulence, persistent eddies, and cloud/aerosol/vapor scattering and absorption, refractive effects, such as mirages and over-the-horizon viewing, as well as characterization of these phenomena.


• Distributed volume turbulence
• Meteorological/oceanographic phenomena
• Atmospheric and underwater laser beam and electro-magnetic propagation
• Atmospheric and oceanic modeling and simulation
• Turbulence-induced photonic orbital angular momentum (OAM)
• Remote sensing for characterizing the atmosphere or ocean
• Turbulence and scattering mitigation
• Methods and instrumentation for atmospheric or oceanic characterization

Committee Members

  • Szymon Gladysz, Fraunhofer IOSB, GermanyChair
  • Daniel LeMaster, US Air Force Research Laboratory, United StatesChair
  • Sukanta Basu, Technische Universiteit Delft, NetherlandsProgram Chair
  • Olga Korotkova, University of Miami, United StatesProgram Chair
  • Svetlana Avramov-Zamurovic, US Naval Academy, United States
  • Melissa Beason, Air Force Research Laboratory, US, United States
  • Gisele Bennett, MEPSS LLC, United States
  • Steven Fiorino, Air Force Institute of Technology, United States
  • Bobby Hunt, University of Arizona, United States
  • Andrey Kanaev, US Office of Naval Research Global, United Kingdom
  • Andreas Muschinski, NorthWest Research Associates, United States
  • Dario Perez, P. Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso, Chile
  • Guy Potvin, Defence R&D Canada, Canada
  • Anand Sarma, Indian Institute of Science, India
  • Knut Solna, University of California Irvine, United States
  • Mark Spencer, Air Force Research Laboratory, United States
  • Karin Stein, Fraunhofer IOSB, Germany
  • Italo Toselli, Fraunhofer IOSB, Germany
  • Mikhail Vorontsov, University of Dayton, United States
  • Qing Wang, Naval Postgraduate School, United States
  • Donald Wittich, Air Force Research Laboratory, United States


Szymon Gladysz

Fraunhofer IOSB, Germany

Daniel LeMaster

US Air Force Research Laboratory, United States

Sukanta Basu

Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands
Program Chair

Olga Korotkova

University of Miami, United States
Program Chair


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements


HOLOEYE Photonics AG

Photon Force Ltd