Skip to main content

  Scheduled Maintenance  OSA will be performing scheduled maintenance beginning 17 September at 20:00 Eastern Time (UTC -04:00). We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Thank you for your patience as we improve our services. If you need assistance, please visit our Help Center or email our Customer Service department and our Customer Service team will route your message to the appropriate person.

19 July 2021 – 23 July 2021 OSA Virtual Event - Eastern Daylight/Summer Time (UTC - 04:00)

Digital Holography and Three-Dimensional Imaging


The Digital Holography and Three-Dimensional Imaging meeting provides a forum for science, technology, applications of digital holographic, three-dimensional imaging and display methods.

This highly interdisciplinary meeting is related to science, technology and applications of digital holography and three-dimensional imaging. Topic areas include interferometry, quantitative phase imaging, transport of intensity methods, 3D imaging and display systems including VR/AR, computer generated holograms, metasurface holograms, digital holography with various light sources including coherent to incoherent and X-ray to terahertz waves, polarization and dynamic holography, compressive holography, specific image and signal processing and digital holographic methods for microscopy, tomography, optical processing, lithography, metrology, scattering media inspection, remote sensing, non-linear optical systems, bio- and nano-photonics.

View topic categories

Committee Members

  • Partha Banerjee, University of Dayton, United StatesChair
  • Elena Stoykova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, BulgariaCo-Chair
  • Daping Chu, University of Cambridge, United KingdomProgram Chair
  • Jae-Hyeung Park, Inha University, Republic Of KoreaProgram Chair
  • Percival Almoro, University of the Philippines-Diliman, Philippines
  • Pierre-Alexandre Blanche, University of Arizona, United States
  • Liangcai Cao, Tsinghua University, China
  • Ni Chen, King Abdullah Univ of Sci & Technology, Saudi Arabia
  • Chau-Jern Cheng, National Taiwan Normal University, Taiwan
  • Juergen Czarske, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
  • Victor Dyomin, Tomsk State University, Russia
  • Pietro Ferraro, Institute of Intelligent Systems CNR, Italy
  • Marc Georges, Liege Universite, Belgium
  • Yoshio Hayasaki, Utsunomiya University, Japan
  • Hoonjong Kang, Wonkwang University, Republic Of Korea
  • Björn Kemper, University of Muenster, Germany
  • Myung Kim, University of South Florida, United States
  • Tomasz Kozacki, Politechnika Warszawska, Poland
  • Malgorzata Kujawinska, Politechnika Warszawska, Poland
  • Juan Liu, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
  • Kyoji Matsushima, Kansai University, Japan
  • Fernando Mendoza-Santoyo, Centro de Investigaciones en Optica AC, Mexico
  • George Nehmetallah, Catholic University of America, United States
  • Naveen Nishchal, Indian Institute of Technology Patna, India
  • Wolfgang Osten, Universität Stuttgart, Germany
  • Nikolai Petrov, ITMO University, Russia
  • Pascal Picart, LAUM CNRS Le Mans Université, France
  • Peter Schelkens, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
  • Yunlong Sheng, Universite Laval, Canada
  • Bertrand Simon, Institut d'Otpique Graduate School, France
  • Guohai Situ, Shanghai Inst. Opt. Fine Mech., China
  • Mikael Sjodahl, Lulea Tekniska Universitet, Sweden
  • Nelson Tabiryan, Beam Enginering for Adv Measurements Co, United States
  • Peter Tsang, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Dayong Wang, Beijing University of Technology, China
  • Wei Wang, Heriot-Watt University, United Kingdom
  • Hiroshi Yoshikawa, Nihon University, Japan
  • Yaping Zhang, Kunming Univ of Sci. and Tech., China
  • Wenjing Zhou, Shanghai University, China

Tomography and Radiographic Imaging Subcommittee

  • Zhehui (Jeph) Wang, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA, Subcommittee Chair
  • James F. Hunter, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
  • Etiennette Auffray Hillemanns, CERNSwitzerland
  • Derek Schaeffer, Princeton UniversityUSA
  • Haruo Miyadera, ToshibaJapan
  • Richard Sandberg, Brigham Young University​, USA
  • Yuan Ping, Lawrence Livermore National LaboratoryUSA
  • Kyle Thompson, Sandia National Laboratory​, USA
  • Audrey Therrien, Universite de Sherbrooke, Canada
  • Singanallur Venkatakrishnan, Oak Ridge National Laboratory​, USA

Advisory Committee

  • Ting-Chung Poon, Virginia Tech, USA
  • Byoungho Lee, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Toyohiko Yatagai, Utsunomiya University, Japan


Partha Banerjee

University of Dayton, United States

Elena Stoykova

Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria

Daping Chu

University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Program Chair

Jae-Hyeung Park

Inha University, Republic Of Korea
Program Chair


Submit to Applied Optics and Journal of the Optical Society of America A

Applied Optics and Journal of the Optical Society of America A welcome submissions to a feature issue on “Digital Holography and 3D Imaging 2021” in conjunction with the Imaging and Applied Optics Congress. Authors may choose between Applied Optics and JOSA A when submitting to the joint feature issue, but should recognize the differences between them and select the appropriate journal. Submissions will be open 1 August 2021 through 15 September 2021. Additional information on this feature issue is available on the OSA Publishing website. It may also be accessed here. Please also see OSA’s guidelines on expanded conference papers.

Applied Optics also welcomes submissions to a feature issue on “Radiography, Applied Optics, and Data Science (ROADS)” in conjunction with the Digital Holography and Three-Dimensional Imaging, special session on Tomography and Radiography Imaging. The special issue will cover all aspects of tomography and radiographic imaging (TRI) and the connection to applied optics. Submissions opened on 1 June 2021 and will remain open through 27 September 2021. Additional information on this feature issue is available on the OSA Publishing website. Please also see OSA’s guidelines on expanded conference papers.


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements


HOLOEYE Photonics AG

Photon Force Ltd