Biophotonics Congress: Optics in the Life Sciences

12 April 2021 – 16 April 2021
Optica Virtual Event - Pacific Daylight/Summer Time (UTC - 07:00)

Sign up for meeting updates.
Stay Informed

Image Credit: Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University


Optical Manipulation encompasses all areas of manipulation and measurement using light, from optical manipulation of microparticles to photoactivated materials and optogenetics, emphasizing new and developing application areas in biophysics and biomedicine.

This meeting covers the whole range of optical manipulation technologies currently being developed for studies in biophysics, single molecule, single cell and tissue level analysis, optical manipulation of chemical processes in organisms, lab-on-a-chip development, optomechanical cooling, environmental monitoring and theoretical underpinnings. Technologies to be considered include optical tweezers and associated techniques, photo activated materials, optogenetics, light-activated drugs and probes, and microfluidics. In this way, we will try and capture synergies between different optical manipulation technologies with a view to encouraging discussion between different user groups and the development of new hybrid techniques.

Topic Categories

1. Optical Manipulation in Biophysics and Biomedicine
2. Optical Manipulation Fundamentals
3. Optical Manipulation Applications
4. Alternative Manipulation Techniques


Committee Members


Optica - Advancing optics and Photonics Worldwide