22 June 2020 – 26 June 2020 OSA Virtual Event - Eastern Daylight Time (UTC - 04:00)
15 August 2020

This OSA Meeting was presented in an all virtual, web conference format.

Technical sessions were recorded and are available to registrants for on-demand viewing. [Access recorded sessions.]

Image Credit: Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University


Optical sensors have many applications in R&D, national defense and commercial markets such as medical diagnostics and process control.

But because of the breadth of applications for optical sensors, the challenges to the design and functioning of an optical sensor for a particular application requires knowledge of optical, material, and environmental properties that affect sensor performance. SENSORS addresses all aspects of optical sensors from source and detection technologies, sensor configurations, and processing approaches to applications. These optical sensors range from micro-probes to large devices used for standoff monitoring of industrial and environmental species.

View the Topic Categories.

Committee Members

Paul Pellegrino, Army Research Laboratory, USA, General Chair
Gilberto Brambilla, Univ. of Southampton, UK, Program Chair
Frank Vollmer, Univ. of Exeter, UK, Program Chair

THz Sensing

Henry O Everitt, US Army CCDC Aviation & Missile Center, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Elliott Brown, Wright State Univ., USA
Enrique Castro-Camus, Centro de Investigaciones en Optica AC, Mexico
Qing Hu, Massachusetts Inst. of Technology, USA
Tadao Nagatsuma, Osaka Univ., Japan
Hartmut Georg Roskos, Univ. Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Optical Fiber Sensors

Gilberto Brambilla, Univ. of Southampton, UK, Subcommittee Chair
Christophe Caucheteur, Univ. of Mons, Belgium
Jose-Miguel Lopez-Higuera, Universidad de Cantabria, Spain
Janet W Lou , US Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Sinead O'Keeffe, Univ. of Limerick, Ireland

Laser Based Sensors

Yoonchan Jeong, Seoul National Univ., South Korea, Subcommittee Chair
Peter D. Dragic, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Peter Horak, Univ. of Southampton, UK
Christian Grillet, CNRS, France
Kwang Jo Lee, Kyung Hee University, South Korea
Peter Vasil'ev, Univ. of Cambridge, UK

Optical Chemical and Biological Sensors

Ellen L. Holthoff, HQDA ODASA (R&T), USA, Subcommittee Chair
Kevin  J. Major, US Naval Research Laboratory, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Elena Benito-Peña, Complutense University, Spain
Matthew Coppock, Army Research Laboratory, USA
Brian Cullum, Univ. of Maryland Baltimore County, USA
Claudio J. Otón, Scuola Superiore Sant Anna di Pisa, Italy
J. Gonzalo Wangüemert Pérez, University of Málaga, Spain

Nanophotonic and Plasmonic Biosensors

Frank Vollmer, Univ. of Exeter, UK, Subcommittee Chair
Hatice Altug, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Laura Na Liu, Heidelberg Univ., Germany
Wei-Chuan (William) Shih, Univ. of Houston, USA
Misha Sumetsky, Aston University, UK
Filiz Yesilkoy, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Peter Zijlstra, Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, Netherlands












Corporate Sponsors

American Elements


Paul Pellegrino

Army Research Laboratory, USA
General Chair

Gilberto Brambilla

Gilberto Brambilla

Univ. of Southampton, UK
Program Chair

Frank Vollmer

Frank Vollmer

Univ. of Exeter, UK
Program Chair