Laser Applications to Chemical, Security and Environmental Analysis

Image Credit: Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University


LACSEA addresses all aspects of optical techniques and instrumentation for chemical, security, and environmental analysis.

The meeting covers diagnostics of combustion and industrial process gases, atmospheric sensing and monitoring, and the analysis of gases that may contain chemical or biological agents. Sensing of liquids (e.g., aerosols) and solids (e.g., particulates or explosives) is also discussed. Topics include exciting new developments in analytical spectroscopy, ultrafast lasers, frequency combs, and miniaturization using optical approaches spanning the VUV to THz spectral range.

Committee Members

  • Johannes Kiefer, Universitat Bremen, GermanyChair
  • Wolfgang Meier, German Aerospace Center DLR, GermanyChair
  • Hans Stauffer, Spectral Energies LLC, United StatesChair
  • Frank Beyrau, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg , GermanyProgram Chair
  • Joakim Bood, Lund University, SwedenProgram Chair
  • Paul Hsu, Spectral Energies LLC, United StatesProgram Chair
  • Christopher Abram, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg, Germany
  • Christoph Arndt, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany
  • Frank Beyrau, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg , Germany
  • Joakim Bood, Lund University, Sweden
  • Jun Chen, Univ of Shanghai Science & Technology, China
  • Weidong Chen, Universite du Littoral, France
  • Ellen Yi Chen Mazumdar, Georgia Institute of Technology, United States
  • Thomas Dreier, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany
  • Aamir Farooq, King Abdullah Univ of Sci & Technology, Saudi Arabia
  • Benoit Fond, Otto-von-Guericke Univ Magdeburg, Germany
  • Yi Gao, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Paul Hsu, Spectral Energies, LLC
  • Naibo Jiang, Spectral Energies, LLC, United States
  • Johannes Kiefer, Universitat Bremen, Germany
  • Waruna Kulatilaka, Texas A&M University, United States
  • Wolfgang Meier, German Aerospace Center DLR, Germany
  • Jerry Meyer, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
  • Anil Patnaik, Air Force Institute of Technology, United States
  • Thomas Seeger, Universität Siegen, Germany
  • Vincenzo Spagnolo, Politecnico di Bari, Italy
  • Azer Yalin, Colorado State University, United States
  • Rui Yang, University of Oklahoma, United States


Johannes Kiefer

Universitat Bremen, Germany

Wolfgang Meier

German Aerospace Center DLR, Germany

Hans Stauffer

Spectral Energies LLC, United States

Frank Beyrau

Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg , Germany
Program Chair

Joakim Bood

Lund University, Sweden
Program Chair

Paul Hsu

Spectral Energies LLC, United States
Program Chair


OSA - The Optical Society