Skip to main content
23 January 2021

This OSA Meeting will be held as scheduled.

The health and safety of OSA Meetings attendees is always of primary importance, and especially so in our current environment. We continue to monitor health and travel advisories related to COVID-19 (coronavirus) and commit to being responsive amidst changing conditions. This includes exploring options that facilitate maximum participation for speakers and attendees while ensuring the well-being of all participants.


​OF&T will offer new ideas and concepts for the shaping, smoothing, testing and manufacture of conventional and novel optics/optical systems finding applications in existing and emerging technologies.

The 2021 Optical Fabrication and Testing Topical Meeting (OF&T) will emphasize new ideas, concepts and emerging applications in optics manufacturing and metrology. Hot topics will include the following: fabrication of optics by lasers, additive manufacturing of optical components, molding of micro-optics, deterministic manufacturing of aspheric/conformal/freeform optics, advanced metrology systems and direct slope/curvature measurement, fabrication of optics from novel materials, efficient manufacturing and testing of large optics, new CNC machining processes and advances in finishing science. Papers that describe manufacturing chains from the generation of complex shapes to the fine finishing of surfaces, giving details of the process science, will be especially welcomed.

View the topic categories.

Committee Members

  • Jessica DeGroote Nelson, Optimax Systems Inc, United StatesChair
  • Matthew Jenkins, Raytheon Technologies, United StatesChair
  • Dae Wook Kim, University of Arizona, United StatesChair
  • Natalia Trela-McDonald, PowerPhotonic Ltd, United KingdomChair
  • Dave Aikens, Savvy Optics Corp, United States
  • Jens Bauer, Leibniz Institute of Surface Engineering, Germany
  • Paul Dewa, Corning Tropel Corporation, United States
  • Rebecca Dylla-Spears, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States
  • Oscar Fernandez, CSEM, Switzerland
  • Mourad Idir, Brookhaven National Laboratory, United States
  • Gufran Khan, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India
  • Ralf Leutz, Leutz Optics and Illumination, Germany
  • Ruth Mackey, mBryonics Ltd, Ireland
  • James Mooney, Harris, United States
  • Frank Nuernberg, Heraeus Quarzglas GmbH, Germany
  • Soojong Pak, Kyung Hee University, Republic Of Korea
  • Jie Qiao, Rochester Institute of Technology, United States
  • Clara Rivero-Baleine, Lockheed Martin Corporation, United States
  • Tayyab Suratwala, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States
  • Hideo Takino, Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan
  • John Tamkin, Imaging Insights LLC, United States
  • Xiangchao Zhang, Fudan University, China
  • Chunyu Zhao, Arizona Optical Metrology LLC, United States


Jessica DeGroote Nelson

Optimax Systems Inc, United States

Matthew Jenkins

Raytheon Technologies, United States

Dae Wook Kim

University of Arizona, United States

Natalia Trela-McDonald

PowerPhotonic Ltd, United Kingdom


OSA - The Optical Society