25 September 2020

This OSA Meeting will be held as scheduled.

The health and safety of OSA Meetings attendees is always of primary importance, and especially so in our current environment. We continue to monitor health and travel advisories related to COVID-19 (coronavirus) and commit to being responsive amidst changing conditions. This includes exploring options that facilitate maximum participation for speakers and attendees while ensuring the well-being of all participants.

International Optical Design Conference

Image Credit: Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University


Optical design remains a rapidly developing field due to the increased performance demands, improved software and computing platforms for modeling, better algorithms, and new fabrication technologies for better performance. The International Optical Design Conference (IODC), which occurs every four years, provides the most important meeting in optical design for engineers, scientists and designers to stay abreast of the changes in this field. Attendees from around the world in a breadth of optical design disciplines will be able to interact in both informal and formal settings.

Topics of special interest for IODC are illumination system fabrication, surface representation in lens design, desensitizing designs and reduction in cost, beam shaping, micro-optics, polarization, and computational imaging.

Committee Members

  • Peter Clark, Optikos Corporation, United StatesChair
  • Richard Pfisterer, Photon Engineering LLC, United StatesChair
  • Henning Rehn, FISBA, SwitzerlandChair
  • Simon Thibault, Universite Laval, CanadaChair


Peter Clark

Optikos Corporation, United States

Richard Pfisterer

Photon Engineering LLC, United States

Henning Rehn

FISBA, Switzerland

Simon Thibault

Universite Laval, Canada