Image Credit: Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University


​Freeform Optics explores the evolving impact of freeform optical surfaces on optical systems for both imaging and illumination.

Freeform Optics explores the evolving impact of freeform optical surfaces on optical systems for both imaging and illumination. New fabrication techniques that create optical surfaces that are not surfaces of revolution open an expansive new space for optical systems. Particularly enabled systems include illumination systems, head-worn displays and mid- and long-wave pervasive surveillance systems. But optical testing methods for these new surfaces are lacking, and the theory and implementation of an aberration theory as a basis for optical design of these surfaces was only unraveled in 2012. The scope features work on the optical design of imaging systems with freeform surfaces, evolving methods for surface representation for illumination system optimization and a perspective on the new challenges these surface present to optical testing.

With the ever expanding successes from the introduction of freeform surfaces into both imaging and nonimaging (illumination) optical systems, there is innovative work being done in both academia and industry in all areas of optical system evolution including,

  •     Optical design
  •     Optical system simulation
  •     Surface representation
  •     Fabrication
  •     Metrology
  •     Optical system assembly

Invited speakers from both industry and academia will speak to the latest developments in these topics and more.

Committee Members

  • Jessica DeGroote Nelson, Optimax Systems Inc, United StatesChair
  • Fabian Duerr, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, BelgiumChair
  • John Rogers, Synopsys, Inc, United StatesChair
  • Jannick Rolland, University of Rochester, United StatesChair
  • Aaron Bauer, University of Rochester, United States
  • Aleksandra Cvetkovic, LightTec GmbH, Germany
  • Matt Davies, Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
  • Scott Defisher, OptiPro Systems, United States
  • Ulrike Fuchs, Asphericon GmbH, Germany
  • Kyle Fuerschbach, Sandia National Laboratories Albuquerque, United States
  • Joseph Howard, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, United States
  • John Koshel, University of Arizona, United States
  • Roy McBride, PowerPhotonic Ltd, United Kingdom
  • Juan Carlos Miñano, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
  • Julius Muschaweck, JMO GmbH, Germany
  • Harvey Spencer, DRS Technologies, Inc, United States
  • Yongtian Wang, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
  • Rengmao Wu, Zhejiang University, China
  • Yongjun Xie, Xi'an Inst of Optics and Precision Mech
  • Xuejun Zhang, Changchun Inst of Optic, Fine Mech & Phy, China


Jessica DeGroote Nelson

Optimax Systems Inc, United States

Fabian Duerr

Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

John Rogers

Synopsys, Inc, United States

Jannick Rolland

University of Rochester, United States


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements