Skip to main content
03 October 2021 – 07 October 2021 OSA Virtual Event - Eastern Daylight/Summer Time (UTC - 04:00)
05 August 2021

This OSA Meeting will be presented in a virtual, web-conference format using a program schedule based on Eastern Daylight Time (EDT, UTC-04:00).

Participants have the option of viewing sessions live or streaming recorded sessions on demand. Speakers can present live during a session or submit a pre-recorded video. [Learn more.]

Advanced Solid State Lasers Conference

Advanced Solid State Lasers Conference (ASSL) highlights new sources, advanced technologies, components, and system design to extend the operation and application of solid-state lasers.

To view the topic categories, click here


Optics Express and Optical Materials Express welcome submissions to a joint feature issue on “Advanced Solid State Lasers (ASSL)” in conjunction with the OSA Laser Congress. The feature issue will describe recent advances in both materials and sources aspects of solid state lasers. Submissions will be open 2 July through 1 December 2021. Additional information on this feature issue is available on the OSA Publishing website at: and Please also see OSA’s guidelines on expanded conference papers.

Committee Members

Johan Nilsson, University of Southampton, UK, General Chair

Sergey Mirov, University of Alabama at Birmingham, United States, General Chair


Advanced Solid State Lasers Conference (ASSL): Materials

Peter Schunemann, BAE Systems Inc., United States, Program Chair

Carlota Canalias, Kungliga Tekniska Hogskolan, Sweden, Program Chair

John Ballato, Clemson University, United States

Matthias Bickermann, Leibniz Institute for Crystal Growth, Germany

Lynda Busse, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States

Patrice Camy, CIMAP-ENSICAEN, France

Weidong Chen, Fujian Inst. of Res Structure of Matter, China

Mark Dubinskii, US Army Research Laboratory, United States

Simon Duval, Universite Laval, Canada

Romain Gaume, University of Central Florida, CREOL, United States

Corin Gawith, University of Southampton, United Kingdom

Michal Koselja, Institute of Physics of rhe ASCR, Czech Republic

Jiang Li, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, CAS, China

Carmen Menoni, Colorado State University, United States

Patricia Segonds, Neel Institute, France

Takunori Taira, RIKEN / IMS, Japan

Nobuhiro Umemura, Chitose Inst. of Science and Technology, Japan


Advanced Solid State Lasers Conference (ASSL): Sources

Mark Bowers, Lockheed Martin Aculight Corporation, United States, Program Chair

Clara Saraceno, Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany, Program Chair

Johan Boullet, Alphanov, France

Eric Cormier, University Bordeaux, France

Marc Eichhorn, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)​, Germany

Tino Eidam, Active Fiber Systems GmbH, Germany

Jonathan Evans, US Air Force Research Laboratory, United States

Andrew Forbes, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa

Federico Furch, Max Born Institute, Germany

Jennifer Hastie, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom

Yushi Kaneda, University of Arizona, United States

Helen Pask, Macquarie University, Australia

Christopher Phillips, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

V R Supradeepa, Indian Institute of Science, India

Masaki  Tokurakawa, University of Electro-Communications, ILS, Japan

Gustavo Torchia, Centro De Investigaciones Opticas, Argentina

Real Vallee, Université Laval, Canada

Xia Yu, Beihang University, China

Pu Zhou, National University of Defense Technology, China


Corporate Sponsors



Johan Nilsson

University of Southampton, UK
ASSL, General Chair

Sergey Mirov

University of Alabama at Birmingham, United States
ASSL, General Chair

Peter Schunemann

BAE Systems Inc., United States
ASSL: Materials, Sr Program Chair

Carlota Canalias

Kungliga Tekniska Hogskolan, Sweden
ASSL: Materials, Jr Program Chair

Clara Saraceno

Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany
ASSL: Sources, Sr Program Chair

Mark Bowers

Lockheed Martin Aculight Corp., United States
ASSL: Sources, Jr Program Chair