Skip to main content
16 November 2020 – 20 November 2020 OSA Virtual Event - Greenwich Mean Time : Dublin, Edinburgh, Lisbon, London (UTC + 00:00)


HILAS addresses all aspects of strong field phenomena from the technology of high-intensity light sources to the physics of intense light-matter interaction.

The High-intensity Lasers and High-field Phenomena (HILAS) meeting aims to assemble a multidisciplinary community to present and exchange novel ideas and breakthrough achievements relating to the physics and technology of high field sources, and high-intensity laser-matter interaction.

The conference covers both theoretical and experimental aspects of strong-field phenomena. The latest research results in terawatt/petawatt lasers, amplification of few-cycle pulses, laser fusion technologies, EUV and X-ray sources based on lasers, high-intensity sources from the THz up to the X-ray spectral range, plasmas in ultrahigh fields, advances in attosecond science and relativistic nonlinear phenomena are among the topics to be discussed. 

View the complete list of Topic Categories

Committee Members

  • Constantin Haefner, Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik, GermanyChair
  • Giuseppe Sansone, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, GermanyChair
  • Thomas Metzger, TRUMPF Laser GmbH + Co KG, GermanyProgram Chair
  • Fabien Quéré, CEA Saclay, FranceProgram Chair
  • Jakob Andreasson, ELI Beamlines, Sweden
  • Andreas Assion, Spectra-Physics, Austria
  • Daniele Brida, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • Jake Bromage, University of Rochester, United States
  • Laura Cattaneo, ETH Zurich, Germany
  • Louis DiMauro, The Ohio State University, United States
  • Nirit Dudovich, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Jerome Faure, LOA, France
  • Arkady Gonoskov, Institute of Applied Physics of RAS
  • Anne Harth, Max-Planck-Institut fur Kernphysik, Germany
  • Dieter Hoffmann, Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology, Germany
  • Kenichi Ishikawa, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Jiro Itatani, Institute for Solid State Physics-Japan, Japan
  • Chan Joshi, University of California Los Angeles, United States
  • Hyung Taek Kim, Advanced Photonics Research Institute, Republic Of Korea
  • Georg Korn, ELI-beamlines
  • Emily Frances Link, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States
  • Weiwei Liu, Nankai University, China
  • Rodrigo Lopez-Martens, Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquée, France
  • Tammy Ma, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Jean-Luc Miquel, CEA DAM, France
  • Alexander Pukhov, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Dusseldorf, Germany
  • Luis Roso, Centro de Laseres Pulsados, Spain
  • Clara Saraceno, Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany
  • Christophe Simon-Boisson, Thales LAS France , France
  • Emma Springate, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, United Kingdom
  • Eiji Takahashi, RIKEN, Japan
  • Kazuo Tanaka, ELI-NP, Romania
  • Alexander Thomas, University of Michigan
  • Laszlo Veisz, Umea University, Sweden
  • Caterina Vozzi, CNR-IFN, Italy


Constantin Haefner

Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik, Germany

Giuseppe Sansone

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Germany

Thomas Metzger

TRUMPF Laser GmbH + Co KG, Germany
Program Chair

Fabien Quéré

CEA Saclay, France
Program Chair


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsors

American Elements

Platinum Sponsors

Silver Sponsor

JTEC Corporation

Plymouth Grating