13 July 2020 – 16 July 2020 OSA Virtual Event - Eastern Daylight Time (UTC - 04:00)
02 July 2020

This OSA Meeting will be held as scheduled in an all-virtual, web conference format. The OSA Bragg Gratings, Photosensitivity and Poling in Waveguides and Materials Topical Meeting (BGPP) will not convene this year.

Technical sessions will be presented live from the Eastern Daylight Time Zone (EDT) with a recorded archive available later for on-demand viewing. There will be no cost for attendees to participate. Speakers presenting a contributed oral talk or poster will pay a US$ 100 presentation fee. [Register for access.]

Specialty Optical Fibers (SOF)


Specialty Optical Fibers (SOF) meeting discusses synthesis, processing, characterization, modeling, physical properties and applications of specialty and novel optical fibers with high technological impact potential.

Optical fibers, long an enabling technology for telecommunications, are proving to play a central role in a growing number of modern technologies including applications in defense and security, sensing, automotive, and biomedicine. The purpose of this conference is to bring together global leaders from academia, industry, and the public/government sector to survey the present state of the art and project future trends in specialty optical fiber materials, designs, fabrication and applications.

View the topic categories.

Committee Members

Michalis Zervas, University of Southampton, United Kingdom, Chair
Sebastien Février, Universite de Limoges, France, Chair
Rodrigo Amezcua-Correa, University of Central Florida, United States, Program Chair
Natalie Wheeler, University of Southampton, United Kingdom, Program Chair
John Canning,University of Technology Sydney, Australia
Jollivet Clemence, Coherent Inc.
Agnés Desfarges, University of Limoges, France
Liang Dong, Clemson University, United States
Arash Mafi, UNM, United States
Anna Peacock, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Philippe Roy, XLIM, France
Jayanta Sahu, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Kunimasa Saitoh, Hokkaido, Japan
Johann Troles, University Rennes, France


Corporate Sponsor

American Elements

Platinum Sponsor


2020 Exhibitors

NKT Photonics

Optiwave Systems, Inc.

Technica Optical Components, LLC

Congress  Chairs

Sebastien Février


Sebastien Février

Universite de Limoges, France

Michalis Zervas


Michalis Zervas

University of Southampton, United Kingdom

Rodrigo Amezcua-Correa


Rodrigo Amezcua-Correa

University of Central Florida, United States
Program Chair

Natalie Wheeler


Natalie Wheeler

University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Program Chair