Scheduled Maintenance

OSA will be performing scheduled maintenance on Monday (21 October) from 17:00 to 19:00 US EDT. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Thank you for your patience as we improve our services.

If you need assistance, OSA's Customer Service can be reached at +1 202.416.1907 (Worldwide) +1 800.766.4672 (US/Canada) or by emailing us.

Customer Service is available from 08:30 to 18:00 US EDT, Monday through Friday.

Signal Processing in Photonic Communications (SPPCom)


Signal processing is essential in today’s photonic communication systems and networks including backbone metro and long-haul applications, data center interconnects (DCI), edge computing, optical access networks, free space communications, and so forth.

SPPCom covers the state-of-the-art advances in digital and analog (electronic and optical) signal processing techniques for all of these applications, to address the ever-increasing capacity demand, reduce cost per bit, and enable future photonic communication services. SPPCom brings together researchers and engineers from various areas to share their knowledge, cutting-edge research and visions.

View the topic categories.

Committee Members

  • David Hillerkuss, Huawei Technologies, GermanyChair
  • Koji Igarashi, Osaka University, JapanChair
  • Hany Elgala, State University of New York at Albany, United StatesProgram Chair
  • Neil Gonzalez, National University of Colombia, ColombiaProgram Chair
  • Ripalta Stabile, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, NetherlandsProgram Chair
  • Armando Borrero Molina, Universidad Catolica del Uruguay, Uruguay
  • Di Che, Nokia Bell Labs, United States
  • David Elkouss, QUTech
  • Tobias Fehenberger, ADVA Optical Networking, Germany
  • Jhon Granada Torres, Universidad de Antioquia, Colombia
  • Toshimori Honjo, NTT Basic Research Laborarories, Japan
  • Maria Vasilica Ionescu, Nokia Bell Labs France, France
  • Hoom Kim, KAIST Digital Science Library, South Korea
  • Mary McCarthy, Lumentum Switzerland AG, United Kingdom
  • Darli Mello, UNICAMP - DFA, Brazil
  • Joaquin Perez, Universitat Politecnica Valencia, Spain, Spain
  • Molly Piels, Juniper Networks Inc., United States
  • Edson Porto da Silva, Federal University of Campina Grande, Brazil
  • Michael Rahaim, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Jochen Schröeder, Chalmers Tekniska Hogskola, Sweden
  • sihua shao, New Mexico Tech, United States
  • Xiaolu Song, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd., China
  • Naoki Suzuki, Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Japan
  • Akihisa Tomita, Hokkaido University, Japan
  • Metodi Yankov, DTU Fotonik, Technical Univ of Denmark, Denmark
  • Lilin Yi, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China


David Hillerkuss

Huawei Technologies, Germany

Koji Igarashi

Osaka University, Japan

Hany Elgala

State University of New York at Albany, United States
Program Chair

Neil Gonzalez

National University of Colombia, Colombia
Program Chair

Ripalta Stabile

Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands
Program Chair


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements