13 July 2020 – 16 July 2020 OSA Virtual Event - Eastern Daylight Time (UTC - 04:00)
02 July 2020

This OSA Meeting will be held as scheduled in an all-virtual, web conference format. The OSA Bragg Gratings, Photosensitivity and Poling in Waveguides and Materials Topical Meeting (BGPP) will not convene this year.

Technical sessions will be presented live from the Eastern Daylight Time Zone (EDT) with a recorded archive available later for on-demand viewing. There will be no cost for attendees to participate. Speakers presenting a contributed oral talk or poster will pay a US$ 100 presentation fee. [Register for access.]

Photonics in Switching and Computing (PSC)


Photonics in Switching and Computing addresses all aspects of optical switching components, functions, building blocks, and architecture, within existing and emerging communication systems, networks, and computers.

Photonics in Switching and Computing highlights the latest research activities in areas related to "Photonics in Switching" and to “Photonics in Computing” will be presented in an environment that is conducive to in-depth and open discussions of the trends in this area. Research topics include optical switching technologies for dense integration of photonic and electronic functionalities operating side-by-side; various aspects of photonics in computing systems such as photonics for AI and quantum photonics; optical subsystem technologies and architectures for 5G networks and beyond, and inter- and intra-datacenter interconnects; and optical networking and computing architectures including short-reach optical interconnects, optical packet/burst switching routers, rapidly reconfigurable networks, and next-generation protocols and architectures.

View the topic categories:

Committee Members

Hiroaki Harai, NICT, Japan, Chair
Odile Liboiron-Ladouceur, McGill University, Canada, Chair
Dan Marom, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel, Chair
Jose Capmany, Univ. Politecnica de Valencia, Spain, Program Chair
Marco Fiorentino, HP, United States, Program Chair
Akihiro Maruta, Osaka University, Japan, Program Chair

Subcommittee One: Photonics switching technology, devices, and building blocks
Akihiro Maruta, Osaka University, Japan, Subcommittee Chair
Nicola Calabretta, TUE, Netherlands
Giampiero Contestabile, SSSUP, Italy
Takashi Inoue, AIST, Japan
Takahiro Kodama, Kagawa University, Japan
Tsuyoshi Konishi, Osaka University, Japan
Shiva Kumar, McMaster University, Canada
Caroline Lai, Rockley, United States
Guifang Li, CREOL, United States
Motoharu Matuura, UEC, Japan
Takayuki Mizuno, NTT, Japan
Robert  Norwood, University of Arizona, United States
Stylianos Sygletos, Aston University, United Kingdom
Takuo Tanemura, University of Tokyo, Japan
Hiroyuki Uenohara, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Yaoyao Ye, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
John Xiupu Zhang, Concordia, Canada

Subcommittee Two: Photonics in Computing Systems and Deep Learning Applications
Marco Fiorentino, HP, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Nicola Andriolli, Consilio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Italy
Alexandra Boltasseva, Purdue University, United States
Lukas Chrostowsky, University of British Columbia, United States
Eleni Diamanti, UPMC, France
Madeline Glick, Columbia University, United States
Yanir London, Columbia University, United States
Sagi Mathai, Hewlett Packard Labs, United States
Masataka Ohta, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Satoru Okamoto, Keio University, Japan
Roberto Proietti, UC Davis, United States
Marina Radulaski, UC Davis, United States
Christine Silberhorn, Paderborn University, Germany
Kratik Srinivasan, NIST, United States
Weiqiang Sun, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Takahito Tanimura, Fujitsu, Japan
Marc Tauenblatt, IBM, United States
Thomas Van Vaerenbergh, Hewlett Packard Labs, United States
Jian Wu, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China

Subcommittee Three: Photonic networks, systems, and interconnects
Jose Capmany, University Politecnica de Valencia, Spain, Subcommittee Chair
Andrea Blanco Redondo, Nokia Bell Labs, United States
Isabella Cerutti, Europe
Po Dong, Nokia Bell Labs, United States
Nicolas Dupuis, IBM TJ Watson Research Center, United States
Mable Fok, University of Georgia, United States
Ivana Gasulla, Universitat Politècnica de València, Europe
Pengyu Guan, DTU Fotonik, Europe
Tetsuya Kawanishi, Waseda University, Japan
Daniele Melati, National Research Council Canada, Canada
Michela Svaluto Moreolo, Ctr Tecnològic de Telecom de Catalunya, Europe
Eiji Oki, Kyoto University, Japan
Francesca Parmigiani, Microsoft Research Ltd, Europe
Andrew Poon, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong
Yikai Su, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Lena Wosinska, Kungliga Tekniska Hogskolan, Europe
DanXia Xu, National Research Council Canada, Canada


Corporate Sponsor

American Elements

Platinum Sponsor


2020 Exhibitors

NKT Photonics

Optiwave Systems, Inc.

Technica Optical Components, LLC

Congress  Chairs

Hiroaki Harai


Hiroaki Harai

NICT, Japan

Odile Liboiron-Ladouceur


Odile Liboiron-Ladouceur

McGill University, Canada

Dan Marom


Dan Marom

Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Jose Capmany


Jose Capmany

Univ. Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
Program Chair

Marco Fiorentino


Marco Fiorentino

HP, United States
Program Chair

Akihiro Maruta


Akihiro Maruta

Osaka University, Japan
Program Chair