Advanced Photonics Congress

26 July 2021 – 30 July 2021
Optica Virtual Event - Eastern Daylight/Summer Time (UTC - 04:00)

Image Credit: Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University


Download the summary papers.
Access Proceedings

View the full agenda of sessions.
Download Agenda of Sessions

Sign up for meeting updates.
Stay Informed

Photonic Networks and Devices (Networks)

Photonic devices and networking concepts that drive future network scaling and performance for next-generation applications.

The new applications and network architectures will both drive and utilize innovations in optical transmission and photonic devices. Growing demands for bandwidth, flexibility, programmability, resilience, low cost, high integration, high functionality, low power consumption, and small footprint require novel solutions in photonic networks and devices. New management paradigms in the framework of software-defined networking are needed for efficient and dynamic programmability of virtualized network resources.

NETWORKS focuses on fostering research that supports the future scaling and performance requirements of emerging applications, including spectrally and spatially multiplexed systems, data center and data-center interconnection, cloud infrastructure, and content delivery.

NETWORKS brings together researchers and engineers from various communities that intersect in today's applications that require photonic networks.

Topic Categories


David Caplan

MIT Lincoln Lab, United States

Nick Parsons

Huber+Suhner Polatis Photonics, United Kingdom

Wolfgang Freude

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Germany
Program Chair

Christine Tremblay

École de technologie supérieure, Canada
Program Chair

Committee Members

  • David Caplan, MIT Lincoln Lab, United StatesChair
  • Nick Parsons, Huber+Suhner Polatis Photonics, United KingdomChair
  • Wolfgang Freude, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, GermanyProgram Chair
  • Christine Tremblay, École de technologie supérieure, CanadaProgram Chair
  • Hitesh Ballani, Microsoft Research Ltd, United Kingdom
  • Rene Bonk, Nokia Bell Labs, Germany
  • Jiajia Chen, Chalmers Tekniska Högskola, Sweden
  • Nikolaos Panteleimon Diamantopoulos, NTT Device Technology Labs, Japan
  • Rene-Jean Essiambre, Nokia Corporation, United States
  • Lidia Galdino, , United Kingdom
  • Fatima Garcia Gunning, Tyndall National Institute, Ireland
  • David Geisler, Massachusetts Inst of Tech Lincoln Lab, United States
  • Martin Maier, INRS -Optical Zeitgeist Laboratory, Canada
  • Bruce Moision, Google X, United States
  • Tadao Nagatsuma, Osaka University, Japan
  • Kim-Khoa Nguyen, ETS - Ecole de technologie Superieure, Canada
  • Maurice O'Sullivan, Ciena Corporation, Canada
  • João Pedro, Infinera Corporation, Portugal
  • David Plant, McGill University, Canada
  • Marco Ruffini, University of Dublin Trinity College, Ireland
  • Rene Schmogrow, Google LLC, United States
  • Michela Svaluto Moreolo, Ctr Tecnològic de Telecom de Catalunya, Spain
  • Ioannis Tomkos, Athens Information Technology Center, Greece
  • Michael Vasilyev, University of Texas at Arlington, United States
  • Qunbi Zhuge, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China


Optica - Advancing optics and Photonics Worldwide