Optical Devices and Materials for Solar Energy and Solid-state Lighting (PVLED)

Image Credit: Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University


The new PVLED meeting brings together leading international experts in optical sciences and technology for solar energy devices and solid-state lighting.

The meeting covers the latest developments in nanophotonics and advanced materials for the next generation of photovoltaic (PV) solar cells and light emitting diodes (LEDs). This includes all aspects of novel optical materials, nanostructures, and devices, ranging from surface coatings, textures and diffraction gratings to topics such as plasmonics, nanowires, quantum dots for application in solar cells and LEDs - both conventional and emerging types alike. It also explores the range of optical elements for collecting, guiding, concentrating, coupling, trapping, transforming and absorbing sunlight – particularly for concentrating solar power (CSP). As optical components typically constitute the largest fraction of cost of such systems, the scope includes research devoted to improving all optical aspects of solar systems to enhance the performance, such as reducing levelized costs and maximizing long-term reliability.

Attendees will be presented with overarching topics such as the techno-economic analysis of the impact of optics on solar and solid-state lighting systems. The aim is to bring together solar energy researchers with LED researchers and connect them with the broader global optical research community to identify and promote synergies.

PVLED is a merger of the former Optical Nanostructures and Advanced Materials for Photovoltaics (PV), Optics for Solar Energy (SOLAR) and Solid State Lighting (SSL) meetings.

New this year: NOMA and PVLED will host a symposium focusing on advances in perovskite materials for application in photovoltaics, light emission, and photodetectors.

View the topic categories.

Committee Members

  • Hany Aziz, University of Waterloo, CanadaChair
  • Jyh-Chen Chen, National Central University, TaiwanChair
  • Klaus Jaeger, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, GermanyChair
  • Rebecca Saive, Universiteit Twente, NetherlandsChair
  • Nicklas Anttu, Aalto Yliopisto, Finland
  • Hiroyuki Fujiwara, Gifu University, Japan
  • Shaolong Gong, Wuhan University, China
  • Karin Hinzer, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Ray-Hua Horng, NCTU National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Hironori Kaji, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Guillaume Lheureux, University of California Santa Barbara, United States
  • Wojciech Lipinski, The Australian National University
  • Zetian Mi, University of Michigan, United States
  • Monica Morales-Masis, Universiteit Twente, Netherlands
  • Caroline Murawski, Kurt Schwabe Institute Meinsberg, Germany
  • Matthew Pelton, University of Maryland Baltimore County, United States
  • Bryce Richards, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Germany
  • Alexander Sprafke, Martin-Luther University Halle, Germany
  • Giulia Tagliabue, , Switzerland
  • Ayse Turak, McMaster University, Canada
  • Malte Ruben Vogt, Institut für Solarenergieforschung GmbH , Germany
  • Emily Warren, NREL, United States
  • Thomas White, Australian National University, Australia
  • Seunghyup Yoo, Korea Advanced Inst of Science & Tech, South Korea



Hany Aziz

University of Waterloo, Canada

Jyh-Chen Chen

National Central University, Taiwan

Klaus Jaeger

Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany

Rebecca Saive

Universiteit Twente, Netherlands


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements