Novel Optical Materials and Applications (NOMA)

Image Credit: Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University


Addresses new, cutting-edge research in optical materials and applications spanning the transmission spectrum from UV through terahertz.

NOMA is intended as a comprehensive conference that focuses on all types of optical materials and their application to optical technologies. The conference covers advances in design, synthesis, and structuring of optical materials from the ultraviolet to the terahertz spectral ranges, and their utility for applications. Topics will include the most recent advances in materials for nanoscale devices, imaging systems, lasers, optical waveguides and fibers, solar energy, and sensors, as well as other emerging applications. 

View the topic categories.

Committee Members

  • Ishwar Aggarwal, Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, United StatesChair
  • Lynda Busse, US Naval Research Laboratory, United StatesChair
  • Mikhail Kats, University of Wisconsin-Madison, United StatesProgram Chair
  • Woei Ming Lee, Australian National University, AustraliaProgram Chair


Ishwar Aggarwal

Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States

Lynda Busse

US Naval Research Laboratory, United States

Mikhail Kats

University of Wisconsin-Madison, United States
Program Chair

Woei Ming Lee

Australian National University, Australia
Program Chair


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements