Novel Optical Materials and Applications


Addresses new, cutting-edge research in optical materials and applications spanning the transmission spectrum from UV through terahertz.

NOMA is intended as a comprehensive conference that focuses on all types of optical materials and their application to optical technologies. The conference covers advances in design, synthesis, and structuring of optical materials from the ultraviolet to the terahertz spectral ranges, and their utility for applications. Topics will include the most recent advances in materials for nanoscale devices, imaging systems, lasers, optical waveguides and fibers, solar energy, and sensors, as well as other emerging applications. 

Committee Members

  • Ishwar Aggarwal, Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States , Chair
  • Lynda Busse, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States , Chair
  • Mikhail Kats, University of Wisconsin-Madison, United States , Program Chair
  • Sedat Nizamoglu, Koc University, Turkey , Program Chair
  • Colin Baker, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
  • Debashis Chanda, University of Central Florida, United States
  • Jonathan Fan, Stanford University, United States
  • Stephen Foulger, Clemson University, United States
  • Shekhar Guha, US Air Force Research Laboratory, United States
  • Christian Haffner, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Roman Holovchak, Austin Peay State University, United States
  • Jonathan Hu, Baylor University, United States
  • Juejun Hu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
  • Garo Khanarian, BASF Corporation USA, United States
  • Coskun Kocabas, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Ho Wai Lee, Baylor University, United States
  • Woei Ming Lee, Australian National University, Australia
  • Efrat Lifshitz, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
  • Yongmin Liu, Northeastern University, United States
  • Arka Majumdar, University of Washington, United States
  • Feng Miao, School of Physics, Nanjing University
  • Jason Myers, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
  • Dario Pisignano, Universita del Salento, Italy
  • Barry Rand, Princeton University, United States
  • Andrey Rogach, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Angela Seddon, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
  • Brandon Shaw, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
  • Justin Song, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Seok-Hyun Yun, Harvard Medical School, United States
  • Kevin Zawilski, BAE Systems , United States
  • Chenglong Zhao, University of Dayton, United States


Ishwar Aggarwal

Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, UNITED STATES

Lynda Busse

US Naval Research Laboratory, UNITED STATES

Mikhail Kats

University of Wisconsin-Madison, UNITED STATES
Program Chair

Sedat Nizamoglu

Koc University, TURKEY
Program Chair