Integrated Photonics Research, Silicon and Nanophotonics (IPR)


Integrated Photonics Research (IPR) is the premier and longest-running meeting dedicated to groundbreaking advances in research and development of integrated photonic and nano-photonic technologies on all relevant material platforms.

IPR brings together experts from both academia and industry for an open discussion of cutting-edge research, trends and problems. IPR 2020 will continue with the broadened scope started in 2015, which incorporated new sub committees dedicated to emerging areas. They will cover the emerging topics in nano-photonics, new materials for photonics, such as two dimensional materials, epsilon-near-zero materials, integrated nonlinear and quantum photonics spanning from frequency combs to entangled photons generation and detection. Panel and open discussion sessions will also be included to facilitate a forum for free exchange of ideas and related discussion.


View the topic categories.

Committee Members

Lucia Caspani, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom, Chair
Anna Tauke-Pedretti, Sandia National Laboratories Albuquerque, USA, Chair
François Leo, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium, Program Chair
Benjamin Yang, Georgia Tech Research Institute, USA, Program Chair

Photonic Devices Subcommittee
Shamsul Arafin, ECE, Ohio State University, USA, Chair
Imad Agha, University of Dayton, USA
Ang Kah Wee, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Bart Kuyken, University of Ghent, Belgium
Di Liang, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, USA
Mohsen Rahmani, Australian National University, Australia
Meer Nazmus Sakib, Intel, USA
Noelia Vico Trivino, IBM, Switzerland
Xi Wang, University of Delaware, USA
Yuanmu Yang, Tsinghua University, China
Jing Zhang, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA

Integrated Photonics Applications Subcommittee
Nada Masahiro, NTT Device Technology Labs, NTT Corp, Japan, Chair
Takeshi Fujisawa, Hokkaido University, Japan
Sophie Lange, Microsoft Research, USA
Anna Lena Giesecke, AMO, USA
Duncan McFarlane, Southern Methodist University, USA
Daniele Melati, CNRS, Canada
Masahiro Nada, NTT, Japan
Nathan Orloff, NIST, USA
Patrick Runge, HHI, Germany
Jade Wang, MIT-Lincoln Labs, USA
Sanja Zlatanovic, SPAWAR, USA

Integrated Nonlinear and Quantum Optics Subcommittee
Matteo Clerici, University of Glasgow, UK, Chair
Igor Aharonovich, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
Kaoru Minoshima, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Martin Rochette, McGill University, Canada
Judith Su, University of Arizona, USA
Juan Sebastian Totero Gongora, University of Sussex, UK
Ming Li, Institute of Semiconductors, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Andrea Toma, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy
Sara Ducci, Université Paris Diderot, France

New Materials for Integrated Photonics Subcommittee
Luca Dal Negro, Boston University, USA, Chair
Nanfang Yu, Columbia University, USA
Marcelo Davanco, NIST, USA
Madis Raukas, OSRAM opto Semicondocturs Inc., USA
Milos Popovic, Boston University, USA
Alejandro Rodriguez, Princeton, USA
Jifeng Liu, Dartmouth, USA


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements

Congress  Chairs

Lucia Caspani


Lucia Caspani

University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom

Anna Tauke-Pedretti


Anna Tauke-Pedretti

Sandia National Laboratories Albuquerque, United States

François Leo


François Leo

Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
Program Chair

Benjamin Yang


Benjamin Yang

Georgia Tech Research Institute, United States
Program Chair