Integrated Photonics Research, Silicon and Nanophotonics


Integrated Photonics Research (IPR) is the premier and longest-running meeting dedicated to groundbreaking advances in research and development of integrated photonic and nano-photonic technologies on all relevant material platforms.

IPR brings together experts from both academia and industry for an open discussion of cutting-edge research, trends and problems. IPR 2019 will continue with the broadened scope started in 2015, which incorporated new sub committees dedicated to emerging areas. They will cover the emerging topics in nano-photonics, new materials for photonics, such as two dimensional materials, epsilon-near-zero materials, integrated nonlinear and quantum photonics spanning from frequency combs to entangled photons generation and detection. Panel and open discussion sessions will also be included to facilitate a forum for free exchange of ideas and related discussion.

Application areas within the scope of this meeting are very broad and include, but are not restricted to: optical tele- and data communications; optical interconnects, switching and storage; data and information processing, including integrated quantum circuits; and optical monitoring and sensing, including mid-IR photonics. On the material side, traditional III-V semiconductor photonic devices and integrated circuits; silicon based devices and waveguide circuitry; silica on silicon and polymer photonic lightwave circuits as well as new and emerging material platforms such as graphene, 2D materials, and transparent conducting oxides are all within the scope of IPR

View the topic categories.

Committee Members

Andreas Beling, University of Virginia, United States, Chair
Marco Peccianti University of Sussex, United Kingdom, Chair

Lucia Caspani, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom, Program Chair
Anna Tauke-Pedretti, Sandia National Laboratories Albuquerque, United States, Program Chair

Integrated Nonlinear & Quantum Optics

Sonia Garcia-Blanco, University of Twente, NetherlandsSubcommittee Chair
Igor Aharonovich, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
Matteo Clerici, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
Kaoru Minoshima, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Peter T. Rakich, Yale University, United States
Martin Rochette, McGill University, Canada
Judith Su, University of Arizona, United States
Juan Sebastian Totero Gongora, University of Sussex, United Kingdom

Integrated Photonics Applications
Benjamin Yang, Georgia Tech Research Institute, United StatesSubcommittee Chair
Sarvagya Dwivedi, IMEC, United States
Wenhua Lin, Intel Corporation, United States
Duncan McFarlane, Southern Methodist University, United States
Masahiro Nada, NTT Device Technology Laboratories, NTT, Japan
Jo Shien Ng, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
Anna Nikiel, PhotonDelta, Netherlands
Nathalie Vermeulen, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Jade Wang, MIT-Lincoln Labs, United States
Sanja Zlatanovic, SPAWAR, United States

New Materials for Photonics
Luca Dal Negro, Boston University, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Marcelo Davanco, National Inst. of Standards & Technology, United States
Madis Raukas, Osram, Sylvania
Luca Sapienza, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Sahar Sharifzadeh, Boston University, United States
Heayoung Yoon, University of Utah, United States
Nanfang Yu, Columbia University, United States

Photonic Devices
Shamsul Arafin, Ohio State University, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Haisheng Rong, Intel Corporation, United States
Nicola Calabretta, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands
Brian Corbett, Tyndall National Institute, Ireland
Patrick Lo Guo-Qiang, IME, Singapore
Stefano Palomba, School of Physics - University of Sydney, Australia
Noelia Vico Trivino, IBM Research, Switzerland
Laurent Vivien, Universite de Paris-Sud XI, France
Ang Kah Wee, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Yuanmu Yang, Tsinghua University, China

Andreas Beling

Andreas Beling
University of Virginia, United States

Marco Peccianti

Marco Peccianti University of Sussex, United Kingdom

Lucia Caspani

Lucia Caspani
University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom
Program Chair

Anna Tauke-Pedretti

Anna Tauke-Pedretti
Sandia National Laboratories Albuquerque, United States
Program Chair


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements


NKT Photonics