Bragg Gratings, Photosensitivity and Poling in Waveguides and Materials (BGPP)


As the world leading conference on photo-induced phenomena, BGPP addresses all aspects of laser written devices such as waveguides and grating structures.

Main topics focus on photosensitivity, glass relaxation and poling in waveguides and bulk materials, from a fundamental understanding to the development of innovative applications.

BGPP continues to be a cutting-edge meeting for covering state-of-the-art advances on laser written devices in waveguides and bulk optical materials including crystals, oxide and non-oxide glasses. The program is tailored for informal exchanges, forming new partnerships, and reconnecting with colleagues and industry in a relaxed atmosphere. Attendees come from around the world to participate in this exchange of knowledge. The meeting topics are divided into three main themes: 1/ fundamentals of laser processing, relaxation and poling in optical materials, 2/ fabrication techniques, properties and modeling of laser written devices, and 3/ applications of laser written devices, glass relaxation and poling.

View the topic categories.

Committee Members

John Canning, University of Technology Sydney, Australia, Chair
Matthieu Lancry, University de Paris-Sud XI, France, Chair
Martin Bernier, Universite Laval, Canada, Program Chair
Paula Gouvea, Pontificia Univ. Catolica Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Program Chair

Subcommittee One: Fundamentals of Photosensitivity and Poling
Yves Bellouard, EPFL, Switzerland, Subcommittee Chair
Thierry Cardinal, ICMCB, France
Katleen Richardson, CREOL, United States
Takumi Fujiwara, Tohoku University, Japan
Christopher Smelser, Carleton University, Canada
Kyriacos Kalli, Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Andrey A. Lipovskii, St.Petersburg Polytechnic University, Russia
Masaaki Sakakura, Kyoto University, Japan
Andrey Gordeevich Okhrimchuk, FORC, Russia
Razvan  Stoian, LHC, University St. Etienne, France

Subcommittee Two: Properties of Grating Structures, Poled Devices
Raman Kashyap, Polytechnique de Montreal, Canada, Subcommittee Chair
Francis Berghmans, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Alex Fuerbach, Macquarie University, Australia
Garry Berkovic, Soreq NRC, Israel
Patrice Mégret, Université de Mons, Belgium
Peter Smith, ORC Southampton, United Kingdom
Emmanuel Marin, LHC, University St Etienne, France
Michel Digonnet, Stanford University, United States
Robert Walker, NRC-CNRC, Canada
Claire Davis, DSTO Defense, Australia

Subcommittee Three: Industrial Standardization and Applications
Cicero Martelli, Universidade Tecnológica Federal do Paraná, Brazil, Subcommittee Chair           
Chengbo Mou, Shanghai University, Shanghai, China
Raja Ahmad, OFS Labs, United States
Guillaume Laffont, CEA LIST Saclay, France
José-Miguel Lopez-Higuera, Universidad de Cantabria, Spain
Remco Nieuwland, Somnisolutions, Netherlands
Francois Trepanier, TeraXion Inc., Canada
Christophe Caucheteur, Université de Mons, Belgium
Deepa Venkitesh, IIT Madras, India
Oleg Butov, Laboratory of Fiber Optic Technologies, Russia
François Oullette, Chengdu University, China


OSA - The Optical Society

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements

Congress  Chairs

John Canning


John Canning

University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Matthieu Lancry


Matthieu Lancry

University de Paris-Sud XI, France

Martin Bernier


Martin Bernier

Universite Laval, Canada
Program Chair


Paula Gouvea

Pontificia Univ. Catolica Rio de Janiero, Brazil
Program Chair