Bragg Gratings, Photosensitivity and Poling in Glass Waveguides & Materials


BGPP addresses all aspects of grating structures, photosensitivity, glass relaxation and poling in optical fibers and waveguides from physical fundamentals, properties and fabrication approaches to applications.

BGPP continues to be a popular meeting for covering the state-of-the-art advances in fiber and waveguides, gratings and more generally in photosensitivity, in a relaxed and non-pressured atmosphere. The program is tailored for informal exchanges, forming new partnerships, and reconnecting with colleagues. Attendees come from around the world to participate in this exchange of knowledge. The meeting topics are divided into three main themes: i) fundamentals of photosensitivity, glass relaxation and poling, ii) properties of grating and waveguide structures, poled devices, and fabrication techniques, iii) industrial standardization, applications of gratings, waveguides, glass relaxation and poled glass.

BGPP 2018 will feature 2 Special Symposia - additional information can be found with the Special Events page.

BGPP 2018 Student Grants
BGPP awarded 9 student grants to eligible and selected student authors who plan to present an accepted oral paper at the BGPP conference in Zurich. The awarded grants will fully waive the Advanced Photonics conference registration fee. Additionally, a prize for the BGPP Best Student Poster will be selected at the Advanced Photonics Congress.

Support provided by CEA, JPT Opto-Electronics, TeraXion, Northlab Photonics AB, PhotoNova Inc, HBM, Micron Optics, IFOS and ITF Technologies.


View the topic categories.

Committee Members

John Canning, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
Matthieu Lancry, Universite de Paris Sud, France
Program Chairs
Martin Bernier, Universite Laval, Canada
Hans Limberger, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Fundamentals of Photosensitivity and Poling
Sylvain Girard, Universite Saint Etienne, France, Subcommittee Chair
Thierry Cardinal, ICMCB, France
Evgeny Dianov, Fiber Optic Research Center, Russia
Takumi Fujiwara, Tohoku University, Japan
Saulius Juodkazis, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Kyriacos Kalli, Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
Walter Margulis, Acreo Swedish ICT AB, Sweden
Junji Nishii, Hokkaido University, Japan
Stavros Pissadakis, FORTH-IESL, Greece
Yasuhiko Shimotsuma, Kyoto University, Japan
Properties of Grating Structures, Poled Devices
Dmitrii Stepanov, Defence Science Technology Group, Australia, Subcommittee Chair
David Barrera, ITEAM Res. Inst., Univ. Politècnica de València, Spain
Francis Berghmans, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Mykhaylo Dubov, Optoscribe Ltd., United Kingdom
Raman Kashyap, Polytechnique de Montreal, Canada
Tristan Kremp, OFS Labs, USA
Patrice Mégret, Université de Mons, Belgium
Stefan Nolte, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany
Manfred Rothhardt, Leibniz Inst. of Photonic Technology, Germany
Peter Smith, Univ. of South Hampton, United Kingdom
Robert Thomson, Heriot-Watt University, United Kingdom
Industrial Standardization and Applications
Per Karlsson, Northlab Photonics AB, Sweden, Subcommittee Chair
Francisco Araújo, HBM FiberSensing, Portugal
Camille Brès, EPFL, Switzerland
Paula Gouvea, Pontificia Univ Catolica Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Guillaume Laffont, CEA Saclay, France
José-Miguel Lopez-Higuera, Universidad de Cantabria, Spain
Remco Nieuwland, Hittech Multin B.V., Netherlands
Hwa Yaw Tam, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Francois Trepanier, TeraXion Inc, Canada
Christian Waltermann, Fraunhofer Heinrich-Hertz-Institute, Germany
John Canning

John Canning, University of Technology Sydney

Matthieu Lancry

Matthieu Lancry, Universite de Paris Sud


Martin Bernier

Martin Bernier, Universite Laval

Program Chair

Hans Limberger

Hans Limberger, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne

Program Chair


OSA - The Optical Society

Platinum Corporate Sponsors

II-VI Laser Enterprise


Swiss Photonics

Gold Corporate Sponsor


Corporate Sponsor

American Elements, global manufacturer of high purity metals, substrates, laser crystals, advanced materials for semiconductors, optoelectronics, & LEDs.


Eulitha AG
II-VI Laser Enterprise GmbH
FiberBridge Photonics
IOP Publishing Ltd
NKT Photonics GmbH
OptiGrate Corp
Santec USA Corporation
Synopsys, Inc
Thorlabs GmbH
Zurich Instruments 

Corporate Contribution

Anritsu Company
II-VI Laser Enterprise GmbH
Sensirion AG