Skip to main content

OSA | Living History

OSA is home to 34 Nobel Prize winners.


Nobel Prize Winners

For 100 years, OSA has welcomed the leading minds in the fields of optics and photonics.

During this time, the Nobel Prize Committee has recognized 34 OSA members for their contributions to physics, chemistry, or physiology/medicine. Since 1960, 30% of physics prize recipients have been photonics-related or strongly benefited from photonics technologies.

(Courtesy of OSA)