G. Michael Morris

G. Michael Morris

2003 OSA President G. Michael Morris is an internationally recognized expert in opto-electronic systems research.  He has been active in optical engineering research and development for over twenty-seven years.  Morris received his B.S. degree with Special Distinction in Engineering Physics from the University of Oklahoma, and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the California Institute of Technology.

He co-founded Rochester Photonics Corporation (RPC) in 1989. The firm specialized in the design, prototyping, and manufacturing of diffractive and micro-optics components and subsystems, and was acquired by Corning Incorporated in 1999. From February 1999 to December 31, 2002, Corning Rochester Photonics Corporation functioned as a wholly owned subsidiary of Corning Incorporated.

He founded Apollo Optical Systems LLC on 31 December 2002. 

In May 2003, he co-founded RPC Photonics, Inc., which specializes in the design and development of optical elements and systems for display and illumination applications for commercial products, medical products and government systems.

From 1979 to 1982, Morris was a Scientist in Optics at the Institute of Optics, University of Rochester. From 1982 to 2001, Morris was a Professor at the Institute of Optics, where he supervised 22 doctoral and 5 masters dissertations.

Morris' research has spanned a wide variety of topics in statistical optics, optical information processing, automatic pattern recognition and diffractive and micro-optics technology.

He holds 17 U.S. patents, and has published more than 70 referred journal articles, 3 book chapters and numerous conference proceedings.  During 2003 he served as President of the Optical Society and from 1999-2015, he served as Chair of the OSA Foundation. 

He is the recipeint of several awards, including the 2002 Rochester Engineering Society’s Leo H. East Engineer of the Year Award; and the 1997 Rochester Chamber of Commerce Civic Award for Science and Technology. He is also an Honorary Member of the OSA, Rochester Section, and a Fellow of The Optical Society and SPIE.

In 2005, he was awarded the OSA Joseph Fraunhofer/Robert M. Burley Prize for innovation in the design, theory, and application of diffractive and hybrid optical elements to solve a wide range of problem.  Morris is the recipient of the 2016 OSA Stephen D. Fantone Distinguished Service Award or extraordinary contributions to the OSA, including distinguished service as OSA President and a key role in the formation and leadership of the OSA Foundation.

He has been an key volunteer for the Optical Society, serving on the Board of Directors, Executive and Finance Council and sevearl Awards Committees.  He served as Vice Chair, Chair and Past Chair of the OSA Foundation from 2002-2015.  Currently, he is a member of OSA's Presidential Advisory Committee.