Skip to main content

OSA | Living History

Howard (Ho Wai) Lee

Howard Lee is currently Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics at Baylor University and IQSE Fellow and visiting professor in the Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering (IQSE) at TexasA&M. He was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Caltech, working with Prof. Harry Atwater in active plasmonics/metasurfaces. He received his PhD in Physics from the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Germany in 2012 under the supervision of Prof. Philip Russell (2015 President of OSA). His current research focuses active plasmonics/metasurfaces, linear and nonlinear zero-index optics, quantum biophotonics, “meta”-fiber optics, and hybrid photonic-plasmonic on-chip optical devices. His work on nano-optics and plasmonics has led to publications in various journals, such as Science, Nano Letters, Advanced Materials, and Optics Letters as well as 30 invited talks and 70 conference papers. Dr. Lee is a recipient of 2017 DARPA Young Faculty Award, a 2017 APS Robert S. Hyer Award, a 2018 Baylor Young Investigator Development Award, a 2016 Baylor Proposal Development Award, and a 2012 Croucher Postdoctoral Fellowship. 

Dr. Lee is also passionate about his participation in promoting optical sciences to students and publics, and demonstrating the responsibilities of the optical society. He is an executive committee member, social media chair and webinar chair of the OSA Optical Material Studies Technical Group; a feature science writer for OSA conferences (FiO, CLEO, Advanced Photonics); an active OSA Travelling Lecturer; a scientific judge for OSA Technical Group Poster Session and Student Chapter Competition; a founding faculty advisor for the SPIE Student Chapter at Baylor University; a session organizer for Physics of Quantum Electronics (PQE) 2016, 2017 and META 2016, 2017, 2018 conferences; a guest editor for IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics and Journal of Applied Physics A; and an editor for two international journals.

Document Created: 1 Jun 2021
Last Updated: 1 Jun 2021