OSA | Living History

Girish S. Agarwal

OSA Awards & Distinctions

Girish S. Agarwal is a pioneer in the quantum optics field. He has published hundreds of papers and authored two books on quantum optics, published in 1974 and 2012.He has held teaching positions at Oklahoma State University, the Indian National Science Academy, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, the University of Hyderabad, the University of Colorado, and more.

Agarwal is a Fellow of OSA, the American Physical Society, the Indian National Science Academy, the Royal Society, and Academy of Sciences, and The World Academy of Sciences. He was the recipient of the TWAS Award in Physics, Humboldt Research Award, Einstein Medal of the Optical and Quantum Electronics Society, Eminent Faculty Award of The Oklahoma State University, Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award in Physical Sciences, Meghnad Saha Award in Theoretical Sciences, Goyal Prize in Physics, and many more. From OSA, he received the 1988 Max Born Award.

He is currently at Texas A&M University in the Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering and Departments of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, physics and astronomy.  

Document Created: 4 Feb 2020
Last Updated: 4 Feb 2020