Skip to main content

Public Policy Council

OSA Public Policy Council

OSA Public Policy Council members at the 2019 OSA Spring Leadership Meeting in Washington, D.C.

The OSA Public Policy Council focuses its efforts on promoting the importance of basic research and federal R&D funding and raising awareness of optics and photonics among key Congressional offices. Following are the Council's current responsibilities:

  • Oversee OSA's public policy program, including member education, congressional/agency relationships and coalition building
  • Oversee OSA's efforts to educate the public on science and technology policy issues
  • Advise the OSA Board of Directors on public policy positions
  • Advise the OSA Board of Directors on legislative, regulatory and funding areas warranting OSA attention
  • Oversee selection of OSA/MRS and Arthur H. Guenther Congressional Fellows

OSA 2021 Public Policy Council



Diane Wong, Chair


Carlos López-Mariscal, Past Chair
Underwater Photonics


Marco Arrigoni
Coherent, Inc.


Jennifer Brookes
Congressional Fellowship Selection Committee


Amy Eskilson
Inrad Optics


Gerald Fraser
National Institute of Standards and Technology


Gerd Leuchs
Max-Planck-Inst Physik des Lichts


Shermineh Rostami Fairchild

University of Central Florida, CREOL


Michelle Stock


Donna Strickland

University of Waterloo






OSA Staff Liaisons

  • Elizabeth Rogan, Chief Executive Officer
    Phone: +1 202.416.1467
  • David Lang, Senior Director of Government Relations
    Phone: +1 202.416.1499

  • Brandy Dillingham Government Relations Manager
  • Phone: +1 202.416.1409

Voice your opinion with OSA’s easy-to-use e-mail tool.

The Capitol chamberInterested in making public policy a part of your career?

Apply for OSA's Congressional Fellowships for the opportunity to work on Capitol Hill for one year.