The OSA Diversity & Inclusion Advocacy
2018 Recognition Honorees

Acknowledged for outstanding dedication and accomplishments, fostering greater appreciation, advancement and celebration of diversity and inclusivity in optics and photonics.

Arlene Maclin
Howard University
United States

Arlene is an educator, researcher, administrator and mentor. The committee recognizes her work in developing opportunities to expose underrepresented groups to STEM, specifically African Americans and women. She launched the first optical engineering program at a historically black university impacting hundreds of students and providing them a strong foundation for their education and future careers.

Frederique Vanholsbeeck
University of Auckland
New Zealand

Frederique was selected due to her advocacy for cultural and gender diversity throughout academia and is known for her passion of inclusivity as well as creating tangible outcomes. She established university-wide support for programs encouraging women to return to work after family leave as well as programs that support indigenous students.

Ling-An Wu
Institute of Physics, CAS

Ling-An was selected for her dedication in empowering and supporting women and children in her region of China. Her work with the local OSA student chapter in developing programming for children of migrant workers as well as her focus on data collection to produce the first set of data on women in physics in China set her apart from the other applications.

Okinawa Institute of Science & Technology (OIST)

The Okinawa Institute of Science & Technology known as OIST is recognized for their progressive policies in creating an inclusive environment. A few of the many items that stood out in their application are their development of a Vice President for Gender Equality on the university’s leadership team, an inclusive gender code of conduct, as well as their dedication in supporting dual career couples by creating an additional faculty or independent researcher position for a partner.

Honorable Mentions


Ibrahim Abdulhalim, Ben-Gurion Univ. of the Negev, Israel

Grace Mei Ting Chai, Univ. of Southampton, Malaysia

Prasoon Diwakar, Purdue Univ., USA

Alexis Vogt, Monroe Community College, USA


HPE Technical Career Path, HP Enterprise, USA

Leibniz Inst. of Photonic Technology, Germany

Out in STEM, Univ. of Washington, USA

Respect is Part of Research, UC Berkeley, USA

The Abdus Salam Int'l. Centre for Theoretical Physics, Italy

Univ. of Cambridge, Equality and Diversity Section, UK

Univ. of Oxford, Department of Physics, UK

Women in Engr. and IT, Univ. of Tech. Sydney, Australia

Women in Optics, Univ. of Arizona, USA

Selection Committee

Arti Agrawal, University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Katherine Calabro, Synopsis, Inc., USA

Angela Dudley, CSIR National Laser Centre, South Africa

Frank Kuo, Mettler Toledo Autochem Inc., USA

Arlene Smith, Avo Photonics Inc., USA