2002 Fellows

The Society is pleased to announce the new Fellow Members for 2002. This distinction was awarded to 23 members for their significant contributions to the advancement of optics and photonics through education, research, engineering, business leadership and service. The selection of these candidates was confirmed by the Board of Directors at its meeting in October 2001.

The Society appreciates the efforts of the many nominators and references. We also extend special thanks to the members of the Fellow Members Committee who reviewed the 90 nominations: Janet Fender (Chair), Malvin Teich (Past Chair), Dennis Killinger, Dennis Hall, James Wyant, L.N. Durvasula and Tasoltan Basiev.


Vincent W. S. Chan
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.
For seminal contributions to the development of the field of optical space communications and optical communications and networks.

Kin Seng Chiang
City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
For extensive contributions to fiber and integrated optics, in particular the theory, simulation, and characterization of optical fibers and waveguides.

George J. Collins
Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado
For key discoveries and contributions to gas lasers beam processing of electro-optic materials as well as education of students.

Martijn de Sterke
University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia
For significant contributions to the understanding of nonlinear periodic media, particularly fiber Bragg gratings, as well as self-written gratings and waveguides .

Louis Franklin DiMauro
Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
For advancement of experimental measurements that resulted in a universal view of strong field atomic physics.

Tso Ye Fan
MIT Lincoln Laboratory, Lexington, Mass.
For the development of diode pumped solid-state lasers, particularly Yb-YAG, and for innovations in laser beam combining.

Daniel A. Fishman
Lucent Technologies, Holmdel, New Jersey
For continued work to increase the reach and capacity of long-distance DWDM optical fiber systems.

Anand Gopinath
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota
For seminal contributions in modeling and design of integrated optical devices.

Guenter Huber
University of Hamburg, Institute for Laser Physics, Hamburg, Germany
For sustained, innovative research involving new solid state laser materials, their associated spectroscopy and fundamental laser properties.

Atac Imamoglu
ETH Zurich, Switzerland
For field-opening work in the areas of electromagnetically induced transparency, quantum optics, and nonlinear optics at the single-photon level.

Tatsuo Izawa
NTT Electronics Corporation, Tokyo, Japan
For contributions to vapor-phase axial deposition for optical-fiber fabrication and pioneer work of silica-based planar lightwave circuits.

Rajinder P. Khosla
National Science Foundation, Arlington, Virginia
For creative and innovative leadership in the transformation of silver-halide based imagery into digital imaging exploiting microelectronics.

Walter Koechner
Fibertek, Inc., Herndon, Virginia
In recognition of your monographic text, Solid-State Laser Engineering, which became the invaluable source on laser technology for students and practicing engineers/scientists over two decades

Jean-Pierre Leburton
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois
For contributions to the theory and simulation of the optical properties of quantum devices and nanostructures.

Eli Peli
Schepens Eye Research Institute, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Mass.
For exploring impaired vision with imaginative psychophysics and addressing findings with innovation and excellence in engineering.

H. Vincent Poor
Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey
For contributions to the theory of optical communications, and in particular of optical code-division multiple-access networks.

Mark George Raizen
University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas
For pioneering experiments in quantum optics and atom optics, and trailblazing contributions to the study of quantum chaos.

Joshua E. Rothenberg
Northrup Grumman, Redondo Beach, Calif.
For contributions to nonlinear and ultrafast optical phenomena in fiber and bulk media, and for inertial confinement fusion.

Adel A. M. Saleh
Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, Arlington, Virginia
For fundamental contributions to optical amplifiers and lightwave CATV systems and for pioneering work on and tenacious advocacy of all-optical networking.

Eric A. Swanson
Sycamore Networks, Chelmsford, Mass.
For pioneering contributions to the fields of intersatellite laser communication systems, fiber optic communication networks, and biomedical optical imaging.

Antoinette J. Taylor
Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico
For outstanding and sustained contributions to the development and spectroscopic application of ultrafast lasers.

Laura A. Weller-Brophy
Eastman-Kodak, Pittsford, New York
For singular contribution to the field of integrated and micro-optic components.

Chih-Chung Yang
National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
For numerous contributions in fiber and semiconductor optoelectronics devices and material characterization, and the development of photonics in Taiwan