2001 Fellows

The Society is pleased to announce the new Fellow Members for 2001. This distinction was awarded to 36 members for their significant contributions to the advancement of optics and photonics through education, research, engineering, business leadership and service. The selection of these candidates was confirmed by the Board of Directors at its meeting in October 2000.

The Society appreciates the efforts of the many nominators and references. We also extend special thanks to the members of the Fellow Members Committee who reviewed the 59 nominations: Malvain Teich (Chair), Robert Fugate (Past Chair), Janet Fender, Donald Keck, Jagdeep Shah, Hans Tiziani and Byron Welsh.


Zhores Alferov
F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute, Russian Academy of Science, Russia
For original investigations of heterostructure injection lasers and cw room temperature semiconductor lasers.

Mikhail Belen'kii
Trex Enterprises, San Diego, Calif.
For contributions to the science and applications of optical propagation through refractive turbulence in the atmosphere.

Gary Boyd
Lucent Technologies (retired), Rumson, New Jersey
For discovery of confocal laser resonators, the first continuously operating optically pumped solid state laser, discovery of the nonlinear properties of lithium niobate, and pioneering work in nonlinear optics using cw lasers.

Katherine Creath
Optineering, Tucson, Arizona.
For internationally known developments, publications, and teaching in the fields of digital speckle-pattern interferometry and phase-shifting interferometry.

Fred M. Dickey
Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico
For seminal contributions to a variety of areas within optical sciences and engineering, including pattern recognition, radar, metrology, and beam shaping.

Martial Ducloy
University of Paris XIII, Paris, France
For key contributions to four-wave mixing processes in gases and the development of novel high sensitivity laser spectroscopy.

Irl N. Duling III
C-COR, Millersville, Maryland
For contributions to fiber lasers, soliton transmission and communication systems, optical fiber devices and properties, and ultrafast phenomena.

Brent L. Ellerbroek
Gemini Observatory, Hilo, Hawaii.
For seminal contributions in controlling adaptive optical systems with artificial laser guide stars.

Rhea T. Eskew, Jr.
Northeastern University, Boston, Mass.
For service to OSA and for advances in the understanding of human color vision.

Charles M. Falco
University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona
For internationally known work in metallic and semiconductor superlattice thin films and epitaxial ultra-thin films, and the education of students.

James D. Franson
Applied Physics Laboratory, Johns Hopkins University, Laurel, Maryland
For seminal contributions to quantum optics including the invention and demonstration of new forms of multiphoton interferometry and quantum cryptography.

Randy Giles
Lucent Technologies, Holmdel, New Jersey
For seminal work in EDFA technology and modeling, and the application of micromachines and fiber Bragg gratings to lightwave networks.

Yukihiro Ishii
Tokyo University of Science, Tokyo, Japan
For remarkable contributions to optical interferometry with laser-diode frequency control, phase-conjugate interferometry, and holographic optical elements, and for innovations in optical information processing.

Nan Marie Jokerst
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina
For the hybrid integration of optoelectronics onto hosts such as silicon CMOS circuits and polymers, with interconnections and computation applications.

Ole Keller
Aalborg University, Denmark.
For numerous contributions to physical optics, especially to microscopic theories of mesoscopic media.

Yuri Kivshar
Australian National University, Canberra, Australia.
For extensive contributions to the theory of optical solitons, in particular the physics and stability of dark, vortex and multi-component solitons.

Takayoshi Kobayashi
University of Tokyo, Japan
For design and development of ultrashort-pulse lasers and their applications to molecular spectroscopy and studies of nonlinear optical processes in polymers.

Donald H. Levy
The James Franck Institute, University of Chicago, Illinois
For invention of supersonic jet spectroscopy and numerous applications to important molecular problems.

Mikhail Lukin
Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.
For contributions to theoretical developments and realizations of atomic coherence effects in optics, including lasers without inversion, resonant enhancement of refractive index and nonlinear processes and spectroscopy of coherent media.

Masud Mansuripur
University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz.
For contributions to the science and technology of optical data storage.

Barry R. Masters
consultant, Arlington, Virginia
For development and applications of in vivo biomedical optical instrumentation for the observation of the human eye and skin.

Charles L. Matson
Air Force Research Laboratory, Kirtland AFB, New Mexico
In recognition of substantial contributions to imaging though the atmosphere, optical biomedical imaging, and image processing theory.

Jerry R. Meyer
Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C.
For fundamental and applied contributions to semiconductor optoelectronics, including the invention and development of new classes of midwave-infrared quantum well lasers.

Leno S. Pedrotti
Center for Occupational Research and Development, Waco, Texas
For life-long premier contributions to optics education from secondary to graduate levels.

Denis G. Pelli
New York University, New York, New York.
For leadership in visual science and the resulting benefits to artists, scholars, and the visually impaired.

L. Ramdas Ram-Mohan
Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Worcester, Mass. For developing the paradigm of wave-function engineering and making an optimized quantum well laser design practical through software.

Philip St J. Russell
University of Erlangen-Nurnberg, Erlangen, Germany
For the invention of the photonic crystal fiber--an array of micron-spaced sub-micron holes that allow for extremely large mode area single-mode fibers with better power handling.

Dror Sarid
University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona
For internationally known work in light scattering, surface acoustic waves, optical waveguides, optical interactions, atomic force microscopy, and the education of students.

E. Fred Schubert
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, New York.
For contributions to light-emitting diodes. In particular for the invention and demonstration of the resonant-cavity LED and the photon-recycling semiconductor LED.

David R. Shafer
David Shafer Optical Design, Fairfield, Conn.
For contributions to the understanding of optical design, including methods of design synthesis, and for advancing the field of optical microlithography.

Richard A. Soref
Air Force Research Laboratory, Hanscom AFB, Mass.
For pioneering investigations of Group IV semiconductors in optoelectronics and guided-wave optics.

James Roy Taylor
Imperial College, London, United Kingdom
For pioneering contributions to the field of femtosecond and nonlinear optics

Kevin P. Thompson
Optical Research Associates, Westborough, Mass.
For significant contributions to the understanding of optical system design and for service to the optical design community.

Mikhail Vorontsov
Army Research Laboratory, Adelphi, Maryland.
For achievements in the development of nonlinear optical systems with two-dimensional feedback for high-resolution adaptive wavefront control, image processing and optical synergetics.

Qasim Zaidi
SUNY State College of Optometry, New York, New York
For service to OSA and for significantly advancing the understanding of the visual processing of color, motion, texture and shape.

Xi-Cheng Zhang
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, New York
For contributions to ultrafast nonlinear optics and free-space terahertz optoelectronics.