Learn more about the award and its establishment

  History and Funding 



Information and deadlines for nominations

  Nomination Guide 



View the members

  Selection Committee 



Sang Soo Lee Award

Recognizes outstanding leadership in founding or growing an optics and photonics community. 

The scope of the award encompasses individuals who have played a key role in a specific region through research, education, introduction of a new field, or initiation of industry.  Nominations are solicited from the global optics and photonics community.

The award was established in 2013 to honor Prof. Sang Soo Lee for his pioneering role in establishing optics in the Republic of Korea. It is jointly presented by Optica and Optical Society of Korea (OSK) in even years, and is endowed by OSK, Optica and the family of Sang Soo Lee.



Ajoy K Ghatak

Ajoy K Ghatak

For his seminal role in the development of fiber optics and guided wave photonics and for pioneering optics education in India


Cheng-Chung Lee

Cheng-Chung Lee

For 30 years Cheng Chung Lee has guided, educated, developed and inspired the optical coating industry in Taiwan and has been the key figure in its growth and success


Sang-Sam Choi

Sang-Sam Choi

For pioneering the development of optical fiber in South Korea which led to flourishing optical fiber and optical communication industries


Mario Garavaglia

Mario Garavaglia

For his key role in the development of optics and photonics research and education in Argentina

* Deceased