OFC Honorees

OSA is proud to recognize the outstanding achievements of our community. We regret that we were unable to honor these accomplishments in-person during OFC.

Please join us in congratulating these honorees being recognized during the OFC Virtual Plenary.


John Tyndall Award

Named in honor of John Tyndall, who made distinguished contributions to physics, particularly his demonstration of total internal reflection in a continuous stream of water, the award recognizes outstanding contributions in any area of optical-fiber technology, including optical fibers themselves, the optical components used in fiber systems, as well as transmission systems and networks using fibers.

Michal Lipson
Columbia University, USA

In recognition of her fundamental and technological advances in integrated photonic devices.


Lipson received her Ph.D. in Physics from The Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Israel. Following a Postdoctoral position in the Material Science Department at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA, she joined the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Cornell University, USA and was named the Given Foundation Professor of Engineering at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. In 2015, she joined Columbia University, USA.

Lipson pioneered critical building blocks in the field of silicon photonics, which today is recognized as one of the most promising directions for solving the major bottlenecks in microelectronics. In 2004, she showed the ability to tailor the electro-optic properties of silicon which led to the explosion of silicon photonics research and development. Today more than one thousand papers published yearly involve devices and circuits based on Lipson’s original modulators, or based on other silicon photonics devices demonstrated by her group including slot waveguides and inverse tapers. The growth of the field of silicon photonics has also been evident in industry with an increasing number of companies developing silicon photonics products (IBM and Intel, HP Aurrion, Melannox, Apic, Luxtera, etc).

Lipson’s work has been cited in top high-impact journals such as Nature, Nature Photonics, Nature Physics, IEEE Photonics Technology Letters, Nanoletters, Lab on a Chip, Physical Review Letters and the Journal of Lightwave Technologies. Her papers (over 250 refereed journal publications) have been cited more than 40,000 times and she is the inventor of over 45 issued patents. She has delivered hundreds of invited, keynote and plenary lectures in all the major conferences in optics and related fields. In recognition of her work in silicon photonics she was elected as a member of the National Academy of Science (NAS). She has also been awarded the NAS Comstock Prize in Physics, the MacArthur Fellowship, the Blavatnik Award, the Optical Society’s R. W. Wood Prize, the IEEE Photonics Award, Erna Hamburger Award and has received an honorary degree from Trinity College, University of Dublin, Ireland. In 2020, she was elected OSA 2021 Vice President and will serve as the Society President in 2023.


2021 Fellows

Recognizing OSA members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics through distinguished contributions to education, research, engineering, business leadership and society. View a complete list of 2021 Fellows.


Mohamed-Slim Alouini
King Abdullah Univ of Sci & Technology (KAUST), Saudi Arabia

For outstanding contributions to optical wireless communications


Aleksandra Boskovic
Corning Inc, USA

For technical leadership in industrial research in optical physics and development of optical fibers, optical materials and products


Audrey Bowden
Vanderbilt University, USA

For outstanding achievements in the development of optical devices, image processing algorithms and systems for biomedicine


Calvin C. K. Chan
The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

For outstanding contributions to the enabling technologies for WDM passive optical networks, optical performance monitoring and signal processing in optical fiber transmission


Frank Chang
Source Photonics, USA

For outstanding and sustained contributions to and leadership on advancing physical-layer integrated circuit devices and optical transceivers in transmission and data center applications


Maria S. Millan
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya - BarcelonaTech (UPC), Spain

For contributions to information optics, image processing, security, industrial inspection and ophthalmology, as well as service to the optics community, particularly in Latin America


Haisheng Rong
Intel Corporation, USA

For pioneering and sustained contributions to the research and development of silicon photonics technology


Gangxiang Shen
Soochow University, China

For contributions to green optical network design, and fiber and wireless integration architecture


Yikai Su
Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

For significant contributions to integrated photonic devices and their applications in optical signal processing


Yuichi Tohmori
Tsurugi-Photonics Foundation, Japan

For outstanding contributions to pioneering research and developments of tunable semiconductor lasers for Dense WDM optical communications


Jian Wang
Wuhan National Laboratory for Optoelectronics, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

For pioneering contributions to twisted light communications employing orbital angular momentum multiplexing and impact on photonic integrated devices for structuring light

Xiaodong Xu
University of Washington, USA

For seminal contributions to 2D semiconductor and heterostructure optics, and magneto-optical effects in 2D magnets


Weimin Zhou
U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA

For contributions to RF-photonics that have revolutionized the generation, transmission, control, and detection of microwave signals using optical approaches