Skip to main content

Corning Women in Optical Communications Scholarship

Corning Women in Optical Communications Scholarship header image
  • Application Dates:
    01 Feb 2021 - 13 Apr 2021
  • Program Prize:

    $3,000 scholarship, and up to $2,000 toward travel expenses

  • Donate Today 

    Help support the future of optics

Driving innovation in the global communication network requires bringing a diverse group of people together to tackle challenges such as enabling 5G and the Internet-of-Things. To support gender diversity in the optical communications industry, The OSA Foundation (OSAF) and Corning, Inc. are pleased to present the Women in Optical Communications Scholarship.

This scholarship is a merit-based prize recognizing outstanding women studying optical communications and networking. Three $3,000 USD scholarships will be distributed annually to supplement tuition, mandatory fees, and other expenses.  Additionally, winners will receive up to $2,000 USD in travel expenses, housing and registration fees to attend the Optical Fiber Communication Conference and Exposition (OFC). Recipients will be recognized at OFC.

Application Dates:

Application Opens: 01 February 2021
Application Closes: 13 April 2021

Applicants Must:

  • Be a current member. 
  • Be a woman currently enrolled as a graduate student at a university.
  • Have a field of study/research focused on one of the following areas: Optical Components, Devices and Fiber, Networks, Applications and Access or Photonic Systems and Subsystems.
  • Demonstrate academic excellence (GPA, publications, references, other awards/merits).
  • Program requirements recognizes and excludes career breaks from career timelines (e.g., elder care, maternity or paternity leave). 

The Application will Include:

  • Essay Response:
    • How would attending OFC support your career advancement and goals?
  • CV/Resume
  • Personal Statement
  • GPA certification (Unofficial Transcript)

2021 Selection Committee:

  • Elaine Wong, University of Melbourne
  • Frank Effenberger, Futurewei
  • Lidia Galdino, University College London
  • David Plant, McGill University
  • Nan Chi, School of Information Science & Technology, Fundan

View Past Winners