Skip to main content


Thanks to the generosity of our donors and partners, we are is able to award over US$24,000 US in scholarships every year.

Our scholarships allow students in the optics and photonics community to continue their education, gain new experiences, and make advances in their research. The four available scholarships include the Paul Anthony Bonenfant Memorial Scholarship, the Women in Optical Communications Scholarship, the Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship, and the Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Scholarship.

Available Scholarships:

Previous Recipients:

Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Scholarship

  • Matthew Robbins, University of Waterloo (2020)
  • An Pan, Xi'an Institute of Optics and Precision Mechanics, China (2019)
  • Robin Puchert, Universität Regensburg, Germany (2018)
  • Aimee K. Gunther, University of Waterloo (2018)
  • Ali Kazemi Jahromi, University of Central Florida, USA (2017)
  • Christopher Pugh, University of Waterloo, Canada (2016)
  • Itai Epstein, Tel-Aviv University, Israel (2015)
  • Juan Nicolas Quesada, University of Toronto, Canada (2014)
  • Yanhui Zhao, Penn State University, USA (2013)
  • Wilson Brenna, University of Waterloo, Canada (2012)

Corning Women in Optical Communications Scholarship

  • Jingyi Yang, University of California, Irvine, USA (2021)
  • Deesha Shah, Purdue University, USA (2021)
  • Elizaveta Yelistratova, Photonics and IR Technology Center, Bauman Moscow State Technical University, Russia (2021)
  • Shaimaa Azzam, Purdue University, USA (2020)
  • Ann Margareth Rosa Brusin, Politecnico di Torino, Italy (2020)
  • Fatemeh Ghaedi Vanani, CREOL, USA (2020)
  • Tali Septon, Technion, Israel (2019)
  • Fatemeh Alishahi, University of Southern California, USA (2019)
  • Yun Gao, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong (2019)

Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship

  • Kelli Kiekens, University of Arizona, USA (2020)
  • Nicholas Kochan, University of Rochester, USA (2019)
  • Juniyali Nauriyal, University of Rochester, USA (2018)
  • Chris Dodds, Monroe Community College, USA (2017)
  • Kameron Tinkham, University of Rochester, USA (2016)
  • James Lewis, Monroe Community CollegeUSA (2015)
  • Antoine Lepicard, University of Central Florida, USA (2014)
  • Laura Coyle, University of Arizona , USA (2013)
  • Peter McCarthy, University of RochesterUSA (2012)
  • Nea Sample, Monroe Community College, USA (2011)
  • Mark Ramme, University of Central FloridaUSA (2010)
  • Katie Schwertz, University of ArizonaUSA (2009)
  • Katherine Hasman, University of RochesterUSA (2008)

Paul Anthony Bonenfant Memorial Scholarship

  • Travis Sawyer, University of Arizona, USA (2019)
  • Adrianna Mitchell, University of Arizona, USA (2018)
  • Alden Hoke, Drexel University, USA (2018)
  • Evan Sloan, Caltech, USA (2016)
  • Victorine Muse, Cornell University, USA (2015)
  • Margaret Cron, Ohio State University, USA (2014)
  • Stephanie Laga, California Institute of Technology, USA (2013)