Women in Optical Communications: Travel Grants 

Sponsored by


The OSA Foundation is pleased to announce the Corning Women in Optical Communications Travel Grants.

Deadline: Closed for 2019

The OSA Foundation is pleased to announce the Corning Travel Grants for Women. These need-based grants are available for women who are currently graduate students, working as post-docs, or in the first 1-5 years of their career. These grants are intended to help cover travel costs to the Optical Fiber Communication Conference and Exposition (OFC).  

Applicants must meet all of the following criteria:

  • A woman currently enrolled as a graduate student, working as a post-doc, or in the first 1-5 years of your career.
  • Demonstrated need for travel assistance to OFC.
    • This is not to take the place of standard forms of support, but rather is meant to provide full or supplementary support for someone who otherwise would be expected to cover expenses out of her own pocket.

Applications must include:

  • A CV or resume.
  • A statement describing the need and explanation of why funds are not available from traditional sources (e.g. travel policy restrictions, advisor budget limitations, lack of corporate travel support).
  • Travel budget to include anticipated expenses and noting any other forms of funding being provided.

Travel Grant Recipients 2019

  • Chaoran Huang, USA, Princeton University
  • Maria Cecília Araújo, Brazil, Mackenzie Presbyterian University
  • Niamh Kavanagh, Ireland, Tyndall National Institute
  • Xinru Wu, Hong Kong, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Christiane Ebongue, USA, Delaware State University
  • Marija Trajkovic, Netherlands, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Rani Sweta, India, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
  • Honghui Zhang, Hong Kong, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Maria Angela Faustino, Philippines, University of the Philippines-Diliman
  • Alba Vela, Spain, Universitat Politècnca de Catalunya

Corning Scholarship and Travel Grant Committee 2018

  • Govind Agrawal, University of Rochester, USA
  • Polina Bayvel, Univeristy College London, UK
  • Daniel Blumenthal, University of California Santa Barbara, USA
  • Aleksandra Boskovic, Corning, USA
  • Marija Furdek, Kungliga Tekniska Hogskolan Kista, Sweden
  • Lynn Nelson, AT&T, USA