Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Student Travel Grants

Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Student Travel Grants

Established in 2009 by Optical Research Associates (ORA), now the Optical Solutions Group at Synopsys, as a memorial to ORA’s former President and Chief Executive Officer Robert S. Hilbert, this program recognizes the research excellence of students in the areas of optical engineering, lens design and illumination design. Three grants of $1,100 USD can be awarded annually. We thank the Optical Solutions Group at Synopsys for their sponsorship of this program.


  1. Applicant must be the presenter of an accepted paper at a qualifying meeting (Note: preference is given to oral presentations, but posters are eligible as well.)
  2. Applicant must be an undergraduate or graduate student of an educational institution of collegiate grade who is devoting more than half-time to studies within the institution at the time the paper was written.
  3. Accepted paper/poster must include research in the areas of optical engineering, lens design and/or illumination design.
  4. Applicants are encouraged to include graphics created using either CODE V® or LightTools®.
  5. Applicant must be a member of OSA.



Ayan Chattopadhyay, Princeton University, USA
Abhijit Roy, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
Ashutosh Singhal and Nisha Nisha, Bharati Vidyapeeth's College of Engineering, India


Rebecca Berman, University of Rochester, USA
Niamh Fitzgerald, National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland
Yang Zhao, University of Rochester, USA


Jin-hui Chen, Nanjing University, China 
Ahmed H. Dorrah, University of Toronto, Canada 
Denise Valente dos Santos, University College Dublin, Ireland 


Haoran Ren, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Nithyanandan K., Pondicherry University, India
Peng Wang, University of Utah, US


Tamer Elazhary, University of Arizona, US
Aaron Bauer, University of Rochester, US
Stacey Sueoka, University of Arizona, US


Julie Kho, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Doron Bar-Lev, Tel-Aviv University, Israel
Stephen J. Olivas, University of California, San Diego, US


Benjamin Alonso, Universidad de Salamanca, Spain
Matthew Barnum (right), University of Arizona, US
Anthony Visconti (left), University of Rochester, US


Sergio Carbajo (left), Colorado State University, US
Ying Geng (right) University of Rochester, US
Akondi Vyas (right), Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India


Amber Beckley (right), University of Rochester, US
Joshua Kim (right), University of Arizona, US
Garam Yun (right), University of Arizona, US

Apply at the time of paper submission