Jean Bennett Memorial Student Travel Grant

Jean Bennett
Memorial Student Travel Grant

This program was established in 2008, in memory of Jean M. Bennett, a highly decorated research physicist who was recognized for her contributions to the studies of optical surfaces and served as OSA’s first female president.

One grant of $1,000 USD will be awarded to a student member presenting their work at Frontiers in Optics in recognition of their research excellence.

This competition is made possible through the generous support of Nanoptek Corporation, the Pennsylvania State University Department of Physics and individual contributors, including: James C. Wyant, Alexander A. Sawchuk, G. Michael and Ruth Morris, Aden B. Meinel, Julio R. Blanco, Yoshiharu Namba, Leo Hollberg, Siu Au Lee and Dr. Kathleen Richardson.


  • Applicant must be the presenter of a paper or poster accepted at FiO
  • Applicant must be a member of OSA.
  • Applicant must be an undergraduate or graduate student of an educational institution of collegiate grade who is devoting more than half-time to studies within the institution at the time the paper was written.



Aonan Zhang
Nanjing University, China


Roxana Rezvani Naraghi 
University of Central Florida, US   


Zi Jing Wong
University of Callifornia, Berkeley, US


Christopher Edwards
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, US


Laszlo Gyongyosi
Budapest University of Technology, Hungary


Emma Wisniewski-Barker
University of Glasgow, UK


Micha Nixon
Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel


Tongcang Li
University of Texas at Austin, US

Will open for applications in Q2 2018