Milton and Rosalind Chang Pivoting Fellowship

Milton and Rosalind Chang Pivoting Fellowship header image
  • Application Dates:
    01 Mar 2021 - 30 Apr 2021
  • Program Prize:



  • Donate Today 

    Help support the future of optics

The OSA Foundation is pleased to announce that Araceli Venegas-Gómez, University of Strathclyde, UK, was selected as the inaugural Milton and Rosalind Chang Pivoting Fellow.  Venegas-Gómez will focus on advancing awareness and understanding of quantum technologies and policy. 

Society has a need for scientific expertise. Technical competency is an invaluable resource sought after by other fields, where a firm grounding in science or technology is an asset. The Milton and Rosalind Chang Pivoting Fellowship provides unrestricted fellowships to talented young optical scientists and engineers who believe their expertise can be utilized to improve society beyond the bench. The program is intended to encourage people of exceptional talent to pursue their newfound passion.

Each year, one OSA member is presented a “no strings” stipend of $50,000. This fellowship is an investment in a person’s commitment to advancing science through non-traditional career paths (e.g. public policy, government, and journalism). The Fellowship is given in support of the individual not a project.

Application Dates:

Application Opens: 01 March 2021
Application Closes: 30 April 2021

Applicants Must:

  • Be an OSA Member who has received their terminal degree within the last five years, or will receive their terminal degree by the application deadlines.
  • Program requirements recognizes and excludes career breaks from career timelines (e.g., elder care, maternity or paternity leave). 

The Application will Include:

  • Statement of Intent
    • Highlight your intent with regard to leveraging your scientific expertise and knowledge to the betterment of the field and society outside of the traditional career paths. This should include your goals and objectives, skills to be applied or gained, and strengths to be developed.
  • Personal Statement
  • CV/ Resume
  • References


2020 Review Committee:

Thomas. Baer, Standord University
Stephen  Fantone, Optikos Corporation, OSA President
Janet Fender, US Air Force
Ursula Gibson, Norges Teknisk Naturvitenskapelige University, OSA Past President
Michael Morris, RPC Photonics Inc. 

View Past Winners