Skip to main content

Tingye Li OFC Prize

Tingye Li OFC Prize header image

The Tingye Li Innovation Prize, established in 2013, honors the global impact Tingye Li made to laser science and optical fiber communications.



This prize is presented to an early career professional who has demonstrated innovative ideas in their accepted paper to OFC, the premier event for telecom and data optics. The recipient will receives a US$3,000 prize, an invitation to the OFC Chairs’ Reception and special recognition during the conference. This honor is endowed by Alliance Fiber Optic Products, Inc., AT&T, The Optical Society, IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Communications Society, Thorlabs, Inc., the Li Family and supporters of the Tingye Li Memorial Fund.


How to Apply:

You can apply through the OFC registration process. Learn more on the conference website.

Application Dates:

The submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular paper submission process and follow all of the instructions provided on the submission site.
Paper Submission Deadline: 19 October 2021

Applicants Must:

  • Applicant must have an accepted paper to OFC or a Post Deadline Paper (PDP) who "opted in" during the submission process
  • Eligible applicant is no older than the age of 39 during the calendar year the prize is given.
  • Applicant must be responsible for and exhibit innovative ideas in their research.
  • Applicant must agree to let The Foundation use their picture, name and story in program marketing opportunities.

Learn more about submitting a paper to OFC.


Selection Committee

The winner is selected by the OFC conference chairs.

2021 Recipient

2021 Tingye Li Innovation Prize Winner Nicolas Fontaine

Nicolas Fontaine, Nokia Bell Labs

Fontaine received the prize for demonstrating advances that can boost communication capacity and improve imaging quality in his paper “Hermite-Gaussian mode multiplexer supporting 1035 modes.”


Past Recipients

  • Julia Gessner, National Institute of Standards & Technology, USA (CLEO - 2020)
  • Di Che, Nokia Bell Labs, USA (OFC - 2020)
  • Shai Tsesses, Technion- Israel Institute of Technology, Isreal (2019)
  • Eric Numkam Fokoua, University of Southampton, UK (2019)
  • Benjamin Lee, IBM TJ Watson Research Center, USA (2018)
  • Logan G. Wright, Cornell University, USA (2018)
  • Tetsuya Hayashi, Sumitomo Electric, Japan (2017)
  • Yoshitomo Okawachi, Columbia Univ., USA (2017)
  • Marcus Seidel, Max-Planck-Institute of Quantum Optics, Germany (2016)
  • Kohki Shibahara, NTT, Japan (2016)
  • Tae Joon Seok, University of California, Berkeley, USA (2015)
  • Antonietta De Sio, Universitat Oldenburg, Germany (2015)

View Past Winners