Skip to main content

Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition

Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition header image
  • Program Prize:

    $1500 Grand Prize

    $1000 Honorable Mentions (2)

  • Donate Today 

    Help support the future of optics

Established in 2007, The Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition recognizes innovation, research excellence, and presentation abilities in optical communications.


How to Apply:

You can apply through the OFC registration process. Learn more on the conference website.

Application Dates:

The submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular paper submission process and follow all of the instructions provided on the submission site.
Paper Submission Deadline: 19 October 2021

Applicants Must:

  • Be an undergraduate or graduate student of an educational institution of collegiate grade who is devoting more than half-time to studies within the institution at the time the paper was written.
  • Submit a paper that is accepted during the regular “call for papers” process for OFC and opt-in to the competition. (Note: Post-deadline Papers are not part of this competition).
  • Present the paper orally during the conference.

Learn more about submitting a paper to OFC.


Selection Committee

The winner is selected by the OFC conference chairs.

2021 Recipient

2021 Corning Competition Winner Xiaosheng Zhang

Xiaosheng Zhang, University of California Berkeley

Zhang was recognized for his paper “Large-scale Silicon Photonics Focal Plane Switch Array for Optical Beam Steering.”


Past Recipients

  • Mengfan Fu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China (2020)
  • Taichiro Fukui, The Univeristy of Tokyo, Japan (2020)
  • Justin Lavrencik, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA (2020)
  • Ryota Tanomura, University of Tokyo, Japan (2019)
  • Duanni Huang, University of California, Santa Barbara, U.S.A. (Honorable mention, 2019)
  • Xuwei Xue, TU/e, Netherlands (Honorable mention, 2019) 
  • Christoph Füllner, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany (2018)
  • Weiyang Mo, University of Arizona, USA (Honorable Mention, 2018)
  • Ivan Fernandez de Jauregui Ruiz, Telecom SudParis, France (Honorable Mention, 2018)
  • Zhe Li, University College London, UK (2017)
  • Zeinab Sanjabi Eznaveh, University of Central Florida, USA (Honorable Mention, 2017)
  • Michael Theurer, Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute, Germany (Honorable Mention, 2017)
  • Zahoora Sanjabieznaveh, University of Central Florida, USA (2016)
  • Jing Wang, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA (Honorable Mention, 2016)
  • Stefan Wolf, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany (Honorable Mention, 2016)
  • Andrea Sgambelluri, Scuola Superiore Sant Anna di Pisa, Italy (2015)
  • Binbin Guan, University of California Davis, USA (Honorable Mention, 2015)
  • Stefano Grillanda, Politecnico di Milano, Italy (Honorable Mention, 2015)
  • Johannes von Lindeiner, University of Cambridge , UK (2014) 
  • Samuel Olsson, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden  (Honorable Mention, 2014)
  • Shohei Beppu, Tohoku University, Japan (Honorable Mention, 2014)
  • Robert Palmer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany (2013)
  • Siddharth Jain, The University of California, Santa Barbara, USA  (Honorable Mention, 2013)
  • Abhinav Rohit, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands (Honorable Mention, 2013)
  • Eric Rodrigue Numkam Fokoua, University of Southampton, UK (2012)
  • An Li, The University of Melbourne, Australia (Honorable Mention, 2012)
  • Nicole Lindenmann, Karlsruhe Institut of Technology, Germany (Honorable Mention, 2012)
  • Liang Du, Monash University, Australia (2011)
  • Neil Guerrero Gonzalez, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark  (Honorable Mention, 2011)
  • Jose Manuel Delgado Mendinueta, University College of London, UK (Honorable Mention, 2011)
  • David Hillerkuss, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany (2010)
  • Jonas Geyer, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany (Honorable Mention, 2010)
  • David Sinefeld, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel (Honorable Mention, 2010)
  • Jeffrey Lee, University of Technology, Eindhoven, Netherlands (2009)
  • Mohammad Alfiad, University of Technology, Eindhoven, Netherlands  (Honorable Mention, 2009)
  • Bo Zhang, University of Southern California, USA (Honorable Mention, 2009)
  • Frederik Van Laere, University IMEC, Belgium (2008)
  • Mohammad Alfiad, University of Technology, Eindhoven, Netherlands (Honorable Mention, 2008)
  • Matthew Dummer, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA (Honorable Mention, 2008)

View Past Winners