Industry Awards & Honors

Industry Awards & Honors

Gain recognition and promotion for outstanding contributions to engineering, business, innovation, leadership, technology and product development.

OSA Fellows

Members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics may be proposed for election to the class of Fellow. The Business Leadership category provides a clearer path to recognize distinction in the business community. Fellow nominees are assessed in the context of their achievements and career path. Nominations are due 15 June, and must be submitted by an OSA Fellow Member. Learn More about Fellow nominations.

Awards & Medals

OSA recognizes and celebrates the field's engineering, business, technical, research, education, leadership and service accomplishments. Our awards program spans all areas of optics and photonics, as well as contributions made to the community. The awards below specifically recognize the achievements of engineers, business leaders, inventors, innovators and entrepreneurs. View a full list of OSA awards and medals.

  • Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award - recognizes team technical achievements in optical engineering. Deadline is 10 April.
  • Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize - recognizes research accomplishments in the field of optical engineering. Deadline is 1 October.
  • Robert E. Hopkins Leadership Award - recognizes an individual or group who has had a significant impact on the global optics and photonics community or has had a significant impact on society as a whole stemming from non-research oriented activities. Deadline is 1 October.
  • Edwin H. Land Medal - recognizes pioneering work empowered by scientific research to create inventions, technologies, and products (co-sponsored with the Society for Imaging Science and Technology). Deadline is 1 October.
  • David Richardson Medal - recognizes contributions to optical engineering, primarily in the commercial and industrial sector. Deadline is 1 October.
  • Kevin P. Thompson Optical Design Innovator Award - recognizes significant contributions, at an early career stage, to lens design, optical engineering, or metrology by an individual as evidenced by one or more of the following: innovative and rigorous research; optical system design with a foundation in aberration theory; development of advanced metrology capabilities; product development; patents; or publications. Deadline is 1 October.
  • John Tyndall Award - recognizes contributions to fiber optic technology (co-sponsored with the IEEE/Photonics Society). Deadline is 10 August. All submissions should be sent to the IEEE Photonics Society

Nominate a colleague today!


Promotion of Fellows & Award Recipients Includes:

  • Special recognition in OSA’s magazine, Optics and Photonics News
  • A dedicated press release
  • Outreach on OSA social media channels
  • Recognition during OSA meetings & conferences
  • Opportunity to participate in award ceremonies at OSA meetings and conferences
  • Recognition in trade magazines, journals and/or conference publications