Skip to main content

Past Awards

Past OSA Awards

Allen Prize
Archie Mahan Prize
Dekker Foundation Student Scholarship Award
New Focus/Bookham Student Award

Allen Prize

This award, established in 1990 and concluded in 2004, was presented to a person who, while a graduate student, made outstanding contributions to atmospheric remote sensing using electro-optical instrumentation especially for conceiving new and unique devices, for the development of new measuring techniques, or for perceptive analysis of remote sensing measurements.  The work which the award recognized should have been completed no more than three years prior to the date of the original nomination deadline.  This award was endowed by Robert Allen and consisted of a certificate and $1,500.


Year Name
2004 Jens Biegert
2003 Weilin Pan
2002 Iain Fletcher Howieson
2001 David N. Whiteman
2000 Remy Avila
1999 Blake Crowther
1998 Huailin Chen
1997 Richard Collins
1996 William E. Eichinger
1995 Carter Grotbeck
1994 Jirong Yu
1993 Timothy J. Kane
1992 Chris A. Hostetler
1991 Zhiping Chu
1990 Richard E. Bills


Archie Mahan Prize

This biennial award, established in 1992 at the bequest of former OSA Treasurer Archie Mahan, recognized the best feature article in Optics & Photonics News (OPN).  Selection was based on accessibility beyond the area of specialty, clarity of text, uses of figures and illustrations, topical interest, current relevance, and writing style.  The prize consisted of a certificate and $1,500.  OPN articles were automatically reviewed and nominations not solicited.  The award was concluded in 2004.


Year Name
2004 Heidi Hofer, David R. Williams
2002 Edward Walter Hagley, Lu Deng, William D. Phillips, Keith Burnett,
and Charles W. Clark
2000 Paula R. L. Heron and Lillian C. McDermott
1998 Roger Easton, Jr, Robert H. Johnston and Keith T. Knox
1996 Robert E. Spero and Stan Whitcomb
1994 Robert Q. Fugate


Dekker Foundation Student Scholarship Award

In 2003 and 2005, OSA and The Dekker Foundation sponsored a student scholarship award. The $10,000 scholarship award was open to graduate students in the field of photonics and optical engineering. The award consisted of a $10,000 cash prize, up to $1,000 in travel support and a certificate presented at OSA’s Frontiers in Optics.


Year Name
2005 Joyce Poon
2003 Sameer R. Bhalotra


New Focus/Bookham Student Award

From 1997 to 2008, this student award program served to encourage research excellence, presentation prowess, and leadership in the optics community among OSA Student Members. The multi-part competition concluded with a special oral presentation session during CLEO/QELS. The program ended in 2009.

Winners & Finalists

Year   Name
2008   Top Prize: Richard Sandberg
Finalists: Amit Agrawal, Wenshan Cai, François Couny, Umit Demirbas, Amy Lytle, Franklyn Quinlan
2007   Top Prize: Kenneth Chau
Finalists: Keisuke Lucas Goda, Michael Chung-Yi Huang, Hong Chuyen Nguyen, Yoshi Okawachi, Giovanni Volpe, Ying Zhou
2006   Top Prize: Virginia O. Lorenz
Finalists: Andrew M. C. Dawes, Jonathan A. N. Fisher, Di Liang, Yi-Hsin Lin, Iva Maxwell, Babak Momeni
2005   Top Prize: Gretchen Campbell
Finalists: Ivan Amat-Roldán, Aaron Danner, Preetpaul Devgan, Zhi Jiang, Sajjad A. Khan, Thomas P. White
2004   Top Prize: Jason McKeever
Finalists: Lukas Chrostowski, James Edward Carey, Paulo C. Dainese, Jr., Christiano J. S. de Matos, Aparna Bhatnagar, Kevin W. Holman
2003   Top Prize: Michael Mielke
Finalists: Felix Brunner, Bradley Ferguson, Joel McCajah Hales, Ju Han Lee, Kenneth Kin-Yip Wong
2002   Seth Aubin, E. Staffan Bjorlin, Michael J. Escuti, Gordon A. Keeler, Jason D. McKinney, Victor Perlin, Sergey V. Polyakov, Paul L. Voss