Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award

Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award

The Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award honors Prof. Michael Feld for his fundamental contributions to applications of photonics technologies to solving biomedical problems.  Established in 2012, the Feld Biophotonics Award recognizes individuals for their innovative and influential contributions to the field of biophotonics, regardless of their career stage.  The scope of the award encompasses all areas of biophotonics ranging from fundamental optics discoveries in biology to development of new theoretical frameworks and novel instrumentation to clinical translational research for biomedicine.

This award is endowed through The OSA Foundation.  The Foundation would like to thank Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Hamamatsu Photonics K.K., Coherent Inc., David Feld along with Ramachandra Dasari, Adam Wax, Kyungwon An, Robert Gold, Charles Holbrow, Firooz Partovi, Manoharan Ramasamy, Rebecca Richards-Kortum and Guillermo Tearney for their support.  Please consider making a donation to this award endowment. 

View the current Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award Selection Committee.


2018 - Lihong V. Wang [Citation]

For inventing the world’s fastest two-dimensional receive-only camera and enabling real-time imaging of the fastest phenomena such as light propagation and fluorescence decay.

2017 - Paras N. Prasad [Citation]

For pioneering research in biophotonics, particularly in application of nonlinear optical and multiphoton processes, and for promoting biophotonics and educating future researchers through his seminal monographs and reviews.

2016 - Robert R Alfano [Citation]

For leadership and pioneering contributions in the field of biophotonics, comprising the diverse use of label-free native fluorescence, Raman spectroscopy, and optical imaging for cancer detection in tissues and cells.

2015 - Bruce J. Tromberg [Citation]

As an advocate for and leader of the Biophotonics Community and for pioneering the development and clinical application of spatially and temporally modulated light imaging

2014 - Rebecca R. Richards-Kortum [Citation]

For exceptional contributions to advancing the applications of optics in disease diagnosis and inspiring work in disseminating low-cost health technologies to the developing world

2013 - Brian C. Wilson [Citation]

For sustained contributions to the field of biophotonics, spanning over thirty years and encompassing outstanding research, technology development, clinical translation and training and education, in the areas of light dosimetry, photodynamic therapy fluorescence and Raman endoscopy, microscopy and nanophotonics

Lihong V. Wang, 2018 Recipient