Skip to main content

C.E.K. Mees Medal

C.E.K. Mees Medal

CEK Mees Medal

Recognizes an original use of optics across multiple fields.

The medal was established in 1961 in memory of OSA charter member C. E. K. Mees, who contributed preeminently to the development of scientific photography. The Mees family endowed the medal to recognize achievements that exemplifies the thought that "optics transcends all boundaries.

The medal has been presented annually since 2017.


2021 - Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop [Citation]

For pioneering innovations in the transfer of optical angular momentum to particles, using sculpted light for laser manipulation on atomic, nano- and microscales to generate fundamental insight and provide powerful probes to biomedicine

2020 - Daniel J Blumenthal [Citation]

For innovation in ultra-low loss photonic integrated circuits and their application to ultra-low linewidth lasers, optical communications, signal processing, optical gyroscopes and atom cooling

2019 - Bahram Javidi [Citation]

For pioneering multidisciplinary contributions to information-optics with diverse applications in bio-photonics, 3D imaging and displays, photon-counting imaging and cyber-physical security

2018 - Stanley E Whitcomb [Citation]

For pioneering interdisciplinary contributions to the development of LIGO gravitational-wave interferometers

2017 - Ming C Wu [Citation]

For the invention of “optoelectronic tweezers” that enable massively parallel manipulation of individual biological cells controlled by digital optical projectors

2015 - Warren S Warren [Citation]

For the development of controlled laser pulses and nonlinear imaging techniques to enable applications ranging from clinical diagnosis to scientific analysis of Renaissance artwork

2013 - Bahaa E A Saleh [Citation]

For lifelong multidisciplinary contributions to statistical optics, quantum optics and image science

2011 - Lihong V Wang [Citation]

For seminal contributions to photoacoustic tomography and Monte Carlo modeling of photon transport in biological tissues and for leadership in the international biophotonics community

2009 - Victor Georgievich Veselago [Citation]

For the invention of negative refraction, which spawned widespread international activity in the multidisciplinary field of metamaterials, including such effects as superlensing and cloaking

2007 - J. Gary Eden [Citation]

For seminal interdisciplinary contributions to ultraviolet lasers, photochemical vapor deposition, ultrafast spectroscopy and microplasma devices, and for strengthening international collaborations in these areas of optics and photonics

2005 - Harrison H Barrett [Citation]

For outstanding contributions leading to widespread applications of optical imaging science in disciplines as diverse as medicine and astrophysics, including advances in gamma-ray imaging techniques in these and other fields

2003 - Christopher Dainty [Citation]

For contributions to the understanding and application of speckle phenomena and for leadership in the international optics community

2001 - Humio Inaba [Citation]

For contributions in quantum and optical electronics including laser radar, remote sensing, nonlinear and integrated optics, and ultrashort optical pulses; for pioneering research on biophotonics; and for playing a significant role in the internationalization of laser radar research

1999 - Toshimitsu Asakura [Citation]

For outstanding seminal contributions to the broad field of optics, interdisciplinary distinguished contributions in numerous applications of lasers, and leadership and various significant contributions to international cooperation in the optics community

1997 - Jumpei Tsujiuchi [Citation]

For his numerous outstanding and significant contributions to optics, mainly in optical metrology, holography, and optical information processing and for his continuous and timeless pursuit of international cooperation

1995 - Serge Lowenthal [Citation]

For numerous major and significant contributions to optics, especially in x-ray imaging, holography, and optical information processing and of his continuous, energetic, and tireless pursuit of the goal of international cooperation

1993 - Hans A Buchdahl [Citation]

For contributions to physical and geometrical optics, their significance, and their international import

1991 - Florin Abeles [Citation]

For his internationally recognized work on the spectroscopy of thin films and metal alloys, and for innovative activity with international organizations and journals of major importance to the optics community

1989 - Kenneth M Baird [Citation]

For his contributions to standards research and optical metrology, particularly those measurements that led to a new definition of the international meter

1987 - Adolf W Lohmann [Citation]

For stimulation of optical research activities in academic and industrial centers in several countries, as well as interdisciplinary contributions to physical optics and optical signal processing

1985 - W.H. Steel [Citation]

In recognition of his contributions to many international organizations, as well as his technical achievements in image diffraction theory, interferometry, and optical design

1983 - Robert Ditchburn [Citation]

For his lengthy career in many disciplines of optics and for his enrichment of optical knowledge

1981 - Maurice Francon No citation available

1979 - Koichi Shimoda [Citation]

In recognition of his contribution to quantum optics and double resonance spectroscopy and for his generous contributions to international cooperation in physics through conference organization and publication guidance

1977 - Andre Marechal [Citation]

For his contributions to many areas of optics, among them diffraction theory of imaging systems, geometrical optics, and effects of partial coherence in imaging systems

1975 - William David Wright No citation available

1973 - Erik P G Ingelstam No citation available

1971 - Giuliano Toraldo di Francia No citation available

1968 - Charles H Townes No citation available

1966 - Bengt Edlen No citation available

1964 - George R Harrison No citation available

1964 - William F Meggers No citation available

1962 - Alfred Kastler No citation available


Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop